If a database search tells you about an article but the full article's not there, look for the "Find fulltext" link.
This link allows you to:
1. Link to the fulltext if it is available in another database
2. Find the hardcopy of the journal within the SJNY libraries
3. Request the item on interlibrary loan if it is not available
You can also use the Journal Locator to discover if the library subscribes to a specific journal title. You can search by title, keyword, or ISSN
What is a study?
A study is a written document, which describes in detail the findings of a scholarly and/or scientific investigation of a topic. It is also known as empirical or primary research.
Characteristics of Research Articles:
Abstract Section - Provides a summary of the articles and includes keywords.
Introduction - Presents the Problem and provides background information and explains why the research is being done.
Hypothesis -States the Problem (this is sometimes also included in the Introduction).
Methods Section - Explains how the research was conducted and may include number of participants, equipment used, procedure, etc.
Results Section - Summarizes the data (including tables, charts, graphs).
Discussion - Evaluates the results and explains how the research proved or disproved the Hypothesis (may be included within Results section).
References - List of sources used. Useful for locating additional materials.
The ERIC Database contains studies and articles from peer reviewed education journals and full text from ERIC digest (Many full-text articles are available).
When searching the ERIC database, be sure to limit your results by checking the following options:
Unless the abstract of an article you find in the database states clearly states that it is a study, you must examine it to determine whether or not it is. In order to do this, look for the following:
ERIC is only one of the many useful databases for research in the field of Child Study. When conducting your research, be sure to use more than one database.
PsycArticles is also useful for locating peer-reviewed studies relating to early childhood.
When searching these databases be sure to limit your search results by selecting the following limiters:
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
Primary sources are works generated at the time of the event, by someone close to the event. Primary sources include:
1. Documents produced by the events themselves: government documents, treaties, reports of official bodies, letters, and speeches.
2. Documents produced to record events at the time of the event: chronicles, diaries, journalists' reports, interviews, drawings, photographs, tape recordings and video tapes.
3. Oral histories or recollections of a participant to an event.
4. Creative Works such as art, drama, music, novels, poetry, and film
5. Reports of original research, case studies, and clinical studies
