Call numbers indicate where an item is located within the library. The Callahan Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system which groups items by subject matter.
The following call numbers will help you locate items relevant to Copyright and Intellectual Property
General Law
K 1401 - 1578 Intellectual Property
K 1411 - 1485 Copyright
Law of the United States
KF 2971 - 3193 Intellectual Property
KF 2986 - 3080 Copyright
Bibliography, Librarianship
Z 551 - 656 Copyright
Below is a sample of some of our reference books. These books are available for use in the Callahan Library only. They can be found in the reference section on the main floor.
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by 
Licensing Digital Content by Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
Business Law for Entrepreneurs by
Business Law for Entrepreneurscovers the unique business and legal issues of startups and small businesses. Outlining critical knowledge on the complete range of topics for entrepreneurs, the textbook covers invention ownership, the use and protection of trademarks, copyrights, patents and trade secrets, as well as entity formation, funding and management, employment, regulatory compliance and liquidity events. This cutting-edge textbook provides students with the competence and practical insights required to identify and respond to emerging challenges in our rapidly evolving business and legal environment. The textbook includes: Key terms and managers' checklists, as well as chapter summaries and key questions to reinforce student learning An instructors' manual, featuring detailed responses to case studies, case questions and ethical considerations >Carefully selected cases that highlight the practical implications of legal issues for entrepreneurs. Expertly combining business and legal strategies for entrepreneurs, this textbook perfectly complements undergraduate and graduate programs that feature entrepreneurship, as well as practitioners preparing to solve real-world business and legal challenges.
Creative Expression and the Law by
A 2022 Choice Reviews Outstanding Academic Title Creative Expression and the Law helps readers better comprehend the legal pitfalls that can present themselves when artists and content creators are generating ideas, producing content and protecting and defending their creative work. In doing so, the book provides a deeper, more targeted examination of copyright, trademark and right of publicity law than is found in standard communication law texts. This examination focuses on how courts scrutinize and apply law to works of artwork and other forms of creative expression and how the constitutional strength of a First Amendment defense can vary across the legal and artistic landscape. The text approaches law as an evolving story shaped by the U.S. Constitution and its commitment to freedom of speech. It draws connections among the various legal areas and explains the purpose and development of each area of law. A set of lively cases that involve iconic brands, celebrities and expressive works are used to illustrate legal standards. Infographics and visual examples of creative work that found itself at the center of legal disputes help readers visualize abstract legal principles and rulings. These images are an important part of the text given the role that visual cues play in helping content creators learn, retain and utilize information.
Pirating and Publishing by
In the late-18th century, a group of publishers in what historian Robert Darnton calls the "Fertile Crescent" -- countries located along the French border, stretching from Holland to Switzerland -- pirated the works of prominent (and often banned) French writers and distributed them in France, where laws governing piracy were in flux and any notion of "copyright" very much in its infancy. Piracy was entirely legal and everyone acknowledged -- tacitly or openly -- that these pirated editions of works by Rousseau, Voltaire, and Diderot, among other luminaries, supplied a growing readership within France, one whose needs could not be met by the monopolistic and tightly controlled Paris Guild. Darnton's book focuses principally on a publisher in Switzerland, one of the largest and whose archives are the most complete. Through the lens of this concern, he offers a sweeping view of the world of writing, publishing, and especially bookselling in pre-Revolutionary France--a vibrantly detailed inside look at a cut-throat industry that was struggling to keep up with the times and, if possible, make a profit off them. Featuring a fascinating cast of characters -- lofty idealists and down-and-dirty opportunists -- this new book expands upon on Darnton's celebrated work on book-publishing in France, most recently found in Literary Tour de France. Pirating and Publishing reveals how and why piracy brought the Enlightenment to every corner of France, feeding the ideas that would explode into revolution.
Reference Shelf: Internet Law by
This issue of Reference Shelf explores evolving cyberlaw pertaining to such issues as data privacy, freedom of expression, intellectual property, e-commerce, and contract law. Free and open source software licensing raises questions regarding developer's liability and trade secrets. Recent advances in surveillance and tapping and in computerized voting technology have also raised many legal issues. The jurisdiction of cyberlaw--should the Internet be treated as a physical space?--is yet another layer. Issues of net neutrality are also considered.
Collective Management of Copyright and Collective Rights, 3rd ed. by From Script to Screen: Copyright for Audiovisual Industry Professionals by 
Navigating Copyright for Libraries by
Information is a critical resource for personal, economic and social development. Libraries and archives are the primary access point to information for individuals and communities with much of the information protected by copyright or licence terms. In this complex legal environment, librarians and information professionals operate at the fulcrum of copyright's balance, ensuring understanding of and compliance with copyright legislation and enabling access to knowledge in the pursuit of research, education and innovation. This book, produced on behalf of the IFLA Copyright and other Legal Matters (CLM) Advisory Committee, provides basic and advanced information about copyright, outlines limitations and exceptions, discusses communicating with users and highlights emerging copyright issues. The chapters note the significance of the topic; describe salient points of the law and legal concepts; present selected comparisons of approaches around the world; highlight opportunities for reform and advocacy; and help libraries and librarians find their way through the copyright maze.
