Streaming media refers to content that is accessed online rather than content made available on physical media such as DVDs. The library subscribes to several collections that are available to students and faculty at any time, either on campus or off, similar to the e-book collections and journal article databases. In addition, the library works with educational streaming media companies to acquire temporary licenses to films a la carte. These films are requested on behalf of the faculty for use in their courses.
Access to all streaming media requires authentication (i.e., SJNY username/password) just as you would when accessing the databases.
See below for more detailed information about the kinds of media available for classroom use.
Library Subscribed Collections
Our subscription collections (Films on Demand, Academic Video Online, etc.), are standing collections of video. Primarily non-fiction and multidisciplinary, these videos are available on an ongoing basis. They are searchable in the library catalog and are accessed by the link provided. Just as users must authenticate before accessing an article in our databases, student will need to log in for off-campus access. Resources in these collections experience occasional turnover (determined by the publisher or copyright holder) and material is added on a regular basis.
Educational / Institutional Streaming Vendors
These vendors work with schools and libraries to provide film licenses. They can include a mix of feature films and documentaries from major film studios and independent producers. They are short-term rentals (usually one year in length). Due to their nature and cost, SJNY acquires these one-by-one through faculty request only. Faculty are provided a direct link to these films that can be shared with a class in Canvas.
Free or Open Access
Public libraries and other institutions have streaming collections available for free. In the case of public libraries, vendors like Hoopla work much like Netflix and other commercial vendors offering a catalog of popular films and television shows.
Streamers such as Freevee, Tubi and YouTube movies stream for free with ads.
There are many archival or educational collections online from cultural institutions. The Library of Congress offers the The American Archive of Public Broadcasting and PBS makes some of their catalog available on their website and YouTube channels.
Commercial Streaming Vendors
Commercial streaming vendors include companies like Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, AppleTV, HBOMax, Paramount and DisneyPlus. Generally, these companies provide a personal license to one individual or household and the content is not subject to fair use copyright exemptions unless stated by the company. Netflix in particular has made some of the documentaries they produce available on their YouTube channel.
Copyright clearance has become more complicated in the age of streaming video. Unfortunately, the fact that your use is educational is not enough to bypass copyright law.
The amount of a film used, the nature of the work (non-fiction vs. dramatic work), the classroom setting and the method of acquisition all play a role in determining whether using the film in class will fall under the Fair Use exception in copyright law or the TEACH Act.
The Library has a Copyright Subject Guide that explains the Fair Use exemption and the TEACH Act in more detail. It also has links to tools like the Fair Use Evaluator to help you determine if your use falls under the exemption.
The Library subject guides on Copyright and Streaming provide basic information and not legal advice. The ultimate arbiter of copyright is a judge.
The audience for a film plays a large part in determining the kind of license and the permissions granted.
Classroom or Course Viewing
The films in our streaming collections have been licensed for classroom and educational use. Students can view these films together in the classroom or individually.
Public Performance
For screenings that aren't directly connected to a course (such as a student club or a department event), or that may include viewers from outside of the University, a public performance license is required even if the viewing is free. A separate contract and licensing fees apply even if we currently have an educational license for a film.
