Web Resources - SJNY Online - Religious Studies - LibGuides at St. Joseph's University New York

Evaluating Websites

To evaluate a website, you must determine its credibility.

Ask yourself "Is this CRAP?"

Currency: When was the page created & updated? (Copyright year)

Reliability/Relevancy : What references does this site provide? (Links)

Authority: Who created this site? (.edu, .gov, .org, .com)

Purpose: Why was this site created & is there bias? (Advertising)

The American Colony in Jerusalem, 1870-2006
Documents from of the Library of Congress's American Memory Collection.
Library of Congress Bible Collection
About the process of recording knowledge: from the use of symbolic rock structures through the invention of mechanical printing by Johann Gutenberg.
Scrolls from the Dead Sea
Dead Sea scrolls exhibit at the Library of Congress.
The Church in the Southern Black Community, 1780-1925
Documents from of the Library of Congress's American Memory Collection.

The David Simonsen Manuscripts
Digitized by the Royal Library of Denmark, the collection contains Halakhic texts (texts related to the legal interpretation of the Hebrew Bible), the Talmud, etc.
Hartford Institute for Religious Research
Contains articles, research and bibliographies on sociology of religion, denomination, religious organizations and new religious movements.
Moyers on Religion
From the Bill Moyers Journal series on PBS.
Panjab Digital Library
A digital library documenting the heritage of Panjab. Includes digitized images of manuscripts, books, newspapers and photographs.
Perseus Digital Library
Contains Greek and Roman texts, Duke's databank of documentary papyri, Arabic, Germanic and Renaissance materials.
Religion and Ethics
Information on the history, ethics, customs, beliefs and holidays of various religions from the BBC.
Religion News Service
A secular organization committed to an ongoing conversation about the role of religion in public life.