LibGuides: Evaluating Sources: Fact Checking, Fake News, and Bias (McEntegart Library): Library Resources

Books

The Principles of Multimedia Journalism by Richard Koci Hernandez
Call Number: PN4775 .H368 2015
Reinventing Professionalism by Silvio Waisbord
Call Number: PN4731 .W35 2013
The Digital Journalist's Handbook by Mark S. Luckie
Call Number: PN4729.3 .L83 2010
Partisan Journalism by Jim A. Kuypers
Call Number: PN4888.O25 K84 2014
The Invention of News by Andrew Pettegree
Call Number: PN5110 .P48 2014
Journalism by Ramon Espejo
Call Number: PN4815.2 .J67 2014

Highlight: New York Times Historical

New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
Historical newspaper articles from the NY Times from 1851 to 2019.

Historical Newspapers Online

Brooklyn Newsstand
Provides free access to the full run of the Brooklyn Daily Eagle newspaper, which was published from 1841 to 1955, as well as Brooklyn Life, a society magazine published from 1890 to 1931.
Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Google News: Newspaper Archive

Newspapers

US Newsstream (ProQuest)
U.S. news articles from the 1980s to present from newspapers, newswires, blogs and news sites.

Major national and regional interest newspapers with some coverage back to 1986.
News (Gale OneFile) (Gale - NOVELNY)
News, images, radio & TV broadcasts, and transcripts from major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world.

Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program, this database contains national and international newspapers.

NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)
New York Times (ProQuest)
Newspaper articles from the NY Times from 1980 to present

News and book reviews 1980 - present.
New York Times Historical (ProQuest)
Historical newspaper articles from the NY Times from 1851 to 2019.
Newsday (ProQuest)
Newspaper articles from Long Island's Newsday from 1985 to present.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
News articles and TV and radio transcripts from U.S., international and regional news sources.

Over 200 regional, national and international newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Popular Magazines (Gale OneFile) (Gale - NOVELNY)
Articles from popular magazines.

Includes more than 1,000 of the most searched magazines, selected by library patrons.

Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program.

NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Catholic News Archive
Digitized U.S. Catholic Newspapers from 1831 to present.

Full-text access to thousands of digitized and born-digital issues of Catholic news sources. Search by keyword, names, events and places. Browse by years, titles and dioceses.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
Business news from 1984 to present.