LibGuides: Accounting (McEntegart Library): Articles & Databases

Find Full-Text Articles

Full text of an article not available? Click the "Find fulltext" button in the database.

This link allows you to:

Link to the article in other databases
Find a hardcopy at SJNY or nearby libraries

To request an item from another library, click:

Interlibrary Loan (Brooklyn Campus)

Locate a Journal

To locate periodicals (magazine, newspapers, journals) search by title (ex. New York Times) or keyword (ex. biology) below.

Discovery: McEntegart Hall Library

Background Information

Start your reseach by locating background information in these databases:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and handbooks in all major subject areas.
Provides access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering all major subject areas. Topic Pages offer pathways for further research, Mind Maps illustrate relationships between topics, and over 200,000 images are ready to use without digital rights management (DRM) restrictions.
Key Business Ratios (KBR) - Mergent
Competitive benchmarking data for public and private companies.
Key Business Ratios (KBR) Print Archive (1979-Present)
Corporate, business, and industry historical data and reports.
Mergent Archives is an online database featuring a vast, indexed collection of more than a century’s worth of global corporate and industry related documents. This collection contains hundreds of thousands of reports covering over 100 countries and industries. Mergent Archives uses a reliable and easy-to-navigate system designed to meet your historical research needs.
Mergent Intellect
Corporate, business, and industry data and reports.

How do I use Mergent Intellect to find company information?
How do I use Mergent Intellect to find industry information?
Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables users to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers users a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
RIA Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
PLEASE READ NOTE FROM THE VENDOR (9/27/24):
Dear Valued Customer,

You are receiving this notice because your subscription contains State statutes content for one or more of the following jurisdictions: Arkansas, Florida and/or Indiana. As previously announced, we are making changes to how we acquire and publish this content so that we can bring you the latest value-added primary law updates faster.

Unfortunately, we're not able to make these improvements without also breaking links to this content amassed from your research History, flagging documents, foldering documents, or creating notes. Such information (including highlighted text and notes you may have previously added to any Arkansas, Florida, or Indiana state statutes content) will no longer be available once we make these changes. You will need to print or export such information if you wish to retain it.

However, we are delayed and so will not be implementing these changes by the previously announced October 4 date. We will update you once we have a new date and will also provide at least 30 days advance notice.
**********
A set of accounting tools including AICPA publications, Internal Revenue Code, FASB Codification, Tax Court Decisions, Citator 2nd, Tax Tables, Calculators and more.

Article Databases

These databases contain articles relating to Accounting:

ABI/Inform Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
How do I use ABI Inform Collection?
Articles, dissertations, market/industry reports, & news in business and the social sciences.
This collection is formed from three sub-collections focused on the subject areas of business and social sciences:

1. ABI/INFORM Dateline‎
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
2. ABI/INFORM Global information
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, SSRN working papers, business cases and global and trade news.
3. ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (1971 - current) information
Trade, Industry-focused information - journal articles, market reports, industry reports and news
Barron's (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Financial news from 1988 to present.
Business: Insights (Gale - NOVELNY) This link opens in a new window
Global business information including company profiles, SWOT reports, industry/market research reports, investment/brokerage reports, and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers. Formerly Business Insights: Essentials
Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program, this comprehensive database brings together a wide variety of global business information including company profiles, industry/market research reports, investment/brokerage reports from Thomson Reuters, and financial reports, as well as business magazines and newspapers. It contains full text from over 8,100 periodical titles.

NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
How do I use Business Source Elite?
Global business information including articles, market, industry and SWOT analysis reports, studies, and other business news.

This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more
Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile) (Gale - NOVELNY) This link opens in a new window
Articles about business and economics.
Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program, Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory offers a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. This content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.

NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Insurance and Liability (Gale OneFile) (Gale - NOVELNY) This link opens in a new window
Articles about Business Insurance, Claims, Employee Benefit News, National Underwriter Life & Health, Pensions & Investments, and Risk Management.
Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program, Gale OneFile: Insurance and Liability addresses concerns over the protection of assets, physical or intellectual, ranging from the individual property owner to multinational corporations. Insurance and Liability connects researchers to hundreds of thousands of updated articles from leading journals.
NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
News articles and TV and radio transcripts from U.S., international and regional news sources.
Over 200 regional, national and international newspapers, as well as television and radio news transcripts.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business new from U.S. and Canadian publications from 1990.
Provides full text for more than 50 regional business publications, including titles from Crain Communications
RIA Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters) This link opens in a new window
PLEASE READ NOTE FROM THE VENDOR (9/27/24):
Dear Valued Customer,

You are receiving this notice because your subscription contains State statutes content for one or more of the following jurisdictions: Arkansas, Florida and/or Indiana. As previously announced, we are making changes to how we acquire and publish this content so that we can bring you the latest value-added primary law updates faster.

Unfortunately, we're not able to make these improvements without also breaking links to this content amassed from your research History, flagging documents, foldering documents, or creating notes. Such information (including highlighted text and notes you may have previously added to any Arkansas, Florida, or Indiana state statutes content) will no longer be available once we make these changes. You will need to print or export such information if you wish to retain it.

However, we are delayed and so will not be implementing these changes by the previously announced October 4 date. We will update you once we have a new date and will also provide at least 30 days advance notice.
**********
A set of accounting tools including AICPA publications, Internal Revenue Code, FASB Codification, Tax Court Decisions, Citator 2nd, Tax Tables, Calculators and more.
Small Business Collection (Gale - NOVELNY) This link opens in a new window
Articles about business insights, strategies, tips and success stories.
Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories for business schools and entrepreneurs.

NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Business news from 1986 to present