History (McEntegart Library): Web Resources

This open access project started by the History Department at Hanover College offers texts and information from many regions of the world. It is being continually updated, so check back often!

"...International collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artifacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet..."

Sponsored by Georgetown University

Modern History online resource created by Fordham University

Official portal to the US Government

This resource offers a wealth of information including parliamentary papers, historical maps, taxation and religious records. You may search by specific towns or regions. In addition to primary sources there are guides, calendars, dictionaries, and gazetteers.

"A digital library containing resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections."

The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.

"A collection Of World History-related essays, documents, maps and music from the Pre-Sumerian era to the present."

Digital collection arranged by broad categories such as "Civil War and Reconstruction (1861-1877)" and "Americas to 1620".

Access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience, courtesy the Library of Congress.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google

Primary documents relating to American history, supported by the University of Michigan Library and Cornell University Library.

Explore the Nation's history through photos, maps, documents, and records.

The Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.

Provides access to primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Founded in 1884, the American Historical Association encompasses every historical period and geographical area and serves professional historians in all areas of employment.

"The World History Association is a community of scholars, teachers, and students who are passionately committed to the study of the history of the human community across regional, cultural and political boundaries."

This organization emphasizes the dissemination of knowledge about history outside the classroom. Members include academics, museum curators, librarians, independent historians, etc.

This is the largest organization in North America that is devoted exclusively to promoting teaching and scholarship in ancient history.

EUscreen provides access to thousands of television programmes and related items.

"The New-York Historical Society, one of America’s pre-eminent cultural institutions, is dedicated to fostering research, presenting history and art exhibitions, and public programs that reveal the dynamism of history and its influence on the world of today."

"...we explore the past of this fascinating and particular place for lessons about our future and we celebrate New York’s heritage of diversity, opportunity, and perpetual transformation."

"The Tenement Museum preserves and interprets the history of immigration through the personal experiences of the generations of newcomers who settled in and built lives on Manhattan's Lower East Side, America's iconic immigrant neighborhood; forges emotional connections between visitors and immigrants past and present; and enhances appreciation for the profound role immigration has played and continues to play in shaping America's evolving national identity."

"The museum is located in the Main Building of the former immigration station complex and tells the moving tales of the 12 million immigrants who entered America through the golden door of Ellis Island. Today, the descendants of those immigrants account for almost half of the American people."

"Discover the history, architecture and spiritual significance of the Eldridge Street Synagogue, the first great house of worship built by East European immigrants in America."

"We invite you to experience one of the nation's most prominent collections of fire related art, artifacts, gear, and apparatus from the late 18th century to the present."

"Created as a living memorial to those who perished during the Holocaust, the Museum honors those who died by celebrating their lives—cherishing the traditions that they embraced, examining their achievements and faith, and affirming the vibrant worldwide Jewish community that is their legacy today. New generations are taught how to recognize and fight contemporary instances of injustice and oppression."