LibGuides: Nursing (McEntegart Library): Web Resources

Evaluating Websites

CRAP Method
Use this worksheet to determine is a source is CRAP or not.

To evaluate a website, you must determine its credibility.

Ask yourself "Is this CRAP?"

Currency: When was the page created & updated? (Copyright year)

Reliability/Relevancy : What references does this site provide? (Links)

Authority: Who created this site? (.edu, .gov, .org, .com)

Purpose: Why was this site created & is there bias? (Advertising)

PubMed Central

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles.

Selected Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC.gov (www.cdc.gov) is your online source for credible health information and is the official Web site of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
The Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library (ISSN 1465-1858) is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups.
Evidence-based Practice
From AHRQ, this site provides information on EPC Evidence Reports, etc.
National Institute of Nursing Research
Dedicated to improving the health and health care of Americans through the funding of nursing research and research training.
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
New York State Department of Health
State Health Agencies
Links to Health Departments of individual states.
The Nursing Theory Page
Collection of resources about nursing theories throughout the world.
The Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
The Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository (Henderson Repository) is the only repository solely dedicated to sharing works created by nurses. It is an open-access digital academic and clinical scholarship service that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research and evidence-based practice materials.
World Health Organization
United Nations authority on global health matters.

Statistics Websites

County Health Rankings
Ranking the health of nearly every county in the nation, the County Health Rankings illustrate what we know when it comes to what’s making people sick or healthy.
New York State Department of Health--Statistics and Data
World Health Rankings
Country by country health information

Nursing (McEntegart Library): Web Resources

Evaluating Websites

PubMed Central

Selected Websites

Statistics Websites

MedlinePlus

Associations and Organizations