HIS210 - Africa from Colonialism to Independence (McEntegart Library): Websites

Get the latest African news from BBC News in Africa: breaking news, features, analysis and special reports plus audio and video from across the African continent.

News from and about Africa from The Christian Science Monitor, an international news organization that delivers thoughtful, global coverage.

Find breaking news, world news, multimedia and opinion on Africa from South Africa, Egypt, Ethiopia, Libya, Rwanda, Kenya, Morocco, Zimbabwe, Sudan and Algeria.

This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid-16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies (or the Africana Library) at Northwestern University.

Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries. It is hoped that the search features of the collection will be a convenient aid to scholarship, study, and teaching of these disciplines.

The African Activist Archive Project is collaborating with activists across the U.S. who supported African liberation struggles to create this online archive of more than 5,000 items. The project also assists individuals and groups to deposit their collections in public repositories, including the African Activist Archive collections in the Michigan State
University Libraries.

The African Online Digital Library (AODL) is a portal to multimedia collections about Africa. MATRIX, working in cooperation with the African Studies Center at Michigan State University, is partnering with universities and cultural heritage organizations in Africa to build this resource. Plans are underway to add digital tools in order to enable scholars to work with and add to these materials. Individuals and organizations interested in contributing to the African Online Digital Library are invited to contact us.

The African Studies Collection brings together primary and secondary resources; research and teaching materials created by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to this field held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. The items were digitized from a variety of formats including books, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs, maps, and other resources.

The Africa Portal is an online resource that seeks to broaden the availability, accessibility and use of policy research on issues critical to the future of Africa. It is a collaborative project between the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) and the South African Institute of International Affairs (SAIIA).

The Afriterra Foundation is a non-profit Cartographic Library and Archive assembling and preserving the original rare maps of Africa in a definitive place for education and interpretation. We view cartography as a medium that uniquely links art, technology, and history.

The website consists of material from archives of the African National Congress (ANC) including photographs, posters, audio and video of the struggle against apartheid. The website includes material related to the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU), the United Democratic Front (UDF), the Solomon Mahlangu Freedom College (SOMAFCO) in Tanzania, and Black Sash. People represented include Nelson Mandela, Winnie Mandela, Govan Mbeki, Oliver Tambo, Jay Naidoo, Pallo Jordan, Jacob Zuma, Alfred Nzo, Mendi Msimang, and Joe Modise. Photographs include demonstrations in South Africa and London, and rallies and meetings in South Africa.

The political system of apartheid governed every aspect of life in South Africa from 1948 to 1991. In practice, apartheid enforced a racial hierarchy privileging white South Africans. The programs and documents illustrate what life was like for ordinary South Africans as well as revealing key moments in the struggle against this political system. The language used to express views on race in these programs reflects the attitudes inherent in apartheid.

The Community Video Education Trust (CVET) in Cape Town is building a digital archive of videos taken in South Africa in the late 1980s and early 1990s. The raw footage available on this website documents anti-apartheid demonstrations, speeches, mass funerals, celebrations, and interviews with activists. Videos capture the activism of trade unions, students and political organizations, including the activities of the United Democratic Front.

This is a project of Africanist scholars at MSU, Harvard, and Indiana. This digital library contains archival and research materials that explore Islamic practices in the West African countries of Senegal and Ghana. Presented in six galleries of audio and video interviews, transcripts, photographs, maps, documents, and multimedia presentations, these resources shed much-needed light on how Muslims in West Africa accept religious difference and create productive interactions among Christians, Muslims, and practitioners of other faiths.

Documents the British campaign against Apartheid in Southern Africa, and its efforts to support the people of South Africa in their fight against apartheid; the AAM also campaigned for freedom for Namibia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Angola, and against South Africa’s attacks on its neighbors.

Here you will find a digital collection of items related to the 1994 genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconstruction processes.

The Heart of Hope website is the product of almost two decades of research by Padraig O’Malley.When the site’s continued existence was threatened by a lack of resources in 2009, the Nelson Mandela Foundation’s Centre of Memory and Dialogue agreed to host it. It is an archival resource. Its content and organisation has been preserved without editorial intervention by the Centre. O’Malley remains fully responsible for the representations, interpretations and reproductions contained in it.

This is a collection of primary source documents related to the conflict between Somalia and Ethiopia in the late 1970s (also known as the 1977-1978 Ogaden War or the Ethiopian-Somali Conflict). Somalia invaded Ethiopia in 1977 in an effort to capture the disputed Ogden region. The resulting crisis is discussed in this collection, as well as the later Eritrean Liberation Movement. Later documents cover Soviet policy toward the region, Ethiopian relations with the Eritreans, the role of the US in Africa, and US Operation Torch.

Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups. Each year, Human Rights Watch publishes more than 100 reports and briefings on human rights conditions in some 90 countries, generating extensive coverage in local and international media.

This significant, under threat and extensive archive of about 850 000 images, now housed at UCT, spans a period from about the 1900’s – 2000. Topics range from social conditions in and around Cape Town, key protests in pre- and post apartheid periods as well as a broad spectrum of political activity, sport and very large collection of images on prominent figures (sport, social, political). UCT Libraries has selected and scanned nearly 6 000 images with appropriate metadata.

The historical images in the International Mission Photography Archive come from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections held at a number of centers in Britain, Europe, and North America. The photographs record missionary endeavors and reflect the missionaries’ experience of communities and environments abroad. There are examples of the physical influence the mission presence brought –seen in churches and their surrounding settlements-- as well as examples of the cultural impact of mission teaching and Western influence, including schools, hospitals, training programs, Christian practices, and Western technology and fashions. The pictures document indigenous peoples' responses to missions and the history of indigenous churches which are often now a major force in society. They also offer views of traditional culture, landscapes, cities, and towns before and in the early stages of modern development.

A collection of archival materials related to Nelson Mandela.

Onitsha Market Literature consists of stories, plays, advice and moral discourses published primarily in the 1960s by local presses in the lively market town of Onitsha, an important commercial site in the Igbo-speaking region of southeastern Nigeria. In the fresh and vigorous genre of Onitsha Market Literature, the commoner wrote pulp fiction and didactic handbooks for those who perused the bookstalls of Onitsha Market, one of Africa’s largest trading centers.

Historical maps of Africa from the University of Texas Libraries collection.

Website of the national government departments of South Africa.

Ufahamu: A Journal of African Studies is an interdisciplinary journal of African Studies. Named after the Swahili word for comprehension, understanding or being, Ufahamu: A Journal of African Studies is committed views about social issues, addressing both the general reader and the scholar. Since its establishment in 1970, Ufahamu: A Journal of African Studies continues to challenge and correct misconceptions about Africa, thereby creating relevant criteria for African Studies. It publishes material supportive of the African revolution and socially significant works of African history, politics, economics, sociology, anthropology, law, planning and development, literature and other topics about the continent and the African Diaspora.

First Dutch newspaper in South Africa 1830-1910. Hosted by the Stellenbosch University Archives.