Please refer to the Library E-Resources and Accessibility Guide for details regarding the accessibility of our various library resources.
Call numbers indicate where an item is located within the library. The Callahan Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system which groups items by subject matter.
The following call numbers will help you locate items relevant to recreation and leisure studies.
GV
Recreation. Leisure
GV191 - GV200.66
Outdoor Recreation
GV201 - GV555
Physical Education and Training
GV1199 - GV1570
Games and Amusements
GV1580 - GV 1799.4
Dance
HD9720-9975
Manufacturing industries
Boosting Tourism Development Through Intellectual Property by 
COVID-19 and Travel by
The year 2020 will be a defining moment in the history of the tourism and hospitality industry worldwide. The arrival of the novel coronavirus, COVID-19 dealt the industry a vicious blow. It is forecast that due to this pandemic, the number of international tourist arrivals will fall by at least 60-80% in 2020, putting millions of jobs at risk. The industry will recover, but travel will never be the same again.COVID-19 and Travel: impacts, responses and outcomes examines how this crisis unfolded and its devasting impacts on the travel, tourism and hospitality industries. Packed with international case studies, it takes the reader from the very outset of the crisis, how the industry reacted and its message to the market, through to its impacts and a possible future. It examines issues such as:* Why the COVID-19 outbreak and travel were inextricably linked;* How the different sectors of the industry adapted to the crisis;* Crisis communication strategies employed by organizations in response to the crisis;* How travellers were impacted by the crisis;* The social, economic and environmental impacts of the pandemic;* The future of travel after COVID-19.The book has a thorough user-friendly pedagogic structure and is accompanied by a website which contains an instructor's guide that includes chapter questions and model answers, a test bank, PowerPoint slides for each chapter, and short videos to accompany the cases. The impacts of this pandemic change daily, and the crisis is still fluid. To this end, the book will be updated regularly with online articles that can be found on the book's website at: www.goodfellowpublishers.com/COVID19Must have reading for all tourism students, educators, and practitioners all over the world and the 'go to' text on the subject of COVID-19 and its impact on travel.
Guides of the Atlas by
How do digital media technologies shape or restructure social practice? And which transitions and demarcations of different forms of publicness arise in this context? Simon Holdermann examines this question in his ethnography of everyday life in the High Atlas Mountains of Morocco. In order to approach the ongoing, historically situated social transformations of the region, he analyses a variety of media practices concerning the organizational work and transnational cooperation that take place there - in particular at the intersection of mountain tourism, NGO work, and local self-government.
Tourism, Knowledge and Learning by
This book contributes to the understanding of how tourism can be designed to provide conditions for learning. This involves learning for tourists, the tourist industry, public authorities and local communities. We explore how tourism, knowledge and learning can be used as means towards sustainable development through current, new or changed structures, concepts, activities and communication efforts. The book should be seen as both an inspiration for tourism actors (e.g. tourism attractions, policy makers and other industry actors), and a scholarly contribution to further research. A holistic approach distinguishes this book from most existing literature that focuses on separate units of tourism, for instance, personal or community well-being, nature-based tourism, cultural heritage tourism or tourism that is a result of researchers' travels (so-called scientific tourism). The various contributors to the book provide a range of perspectives and experiences, from social sciences with a focus on marketing, innovation management, human geography and environmental law, to arts and humanities with a focus on heritage studies, archaeology and photography, and, finally, to natural sciences with a focus on marine sciences.
Tourism and Heritage in the Chornobyl Exclusion Zone by
Tourism and Heritage in the Chornobyl Exclusion Zone (CEZ) uses an ethnographic lens to explore the dissonances associated with the commodification of Chornobyl's heritage. The book considers the role of the guides as experience brokers, focusing on the synergy between tourists and guides in the performance of heritage interpretation. Banaszkiewicz proposes to perceive tour guides as important actors in the bottom-up construction of heritage discourse contributing to more inclusive and participatory approach to heritage management. Demonstrating that the CEZ has been going through a dynamic transformation into a mass tourism attraction, the book offers a critical reflection on heritagisation as a meaning-making process in which the resources of the past are interpreted, negotiated, and recognised as a valuable legacy. Applying the concepts of dissonant heritage to describe the heterogeneous character of the CEZ, the book broadens the interpretative scope of dark tourism which takes on a new dimension in the context of the war in Ukraine. Tourism and Heritage in the Chornobyl Exclusion Zone argues that post-disaster sites such as Chornobyl can teach us a great deal about the importance of preserving cultural and natural heritage for future generations. The book will be of interest to academics and students who are engaged in the study of heritage, tourism, memory, disasters and Eastern Europe.
War As Entertainment and Contents Tourism in Japan by
This book examines the phenomenon of war-related contents tourism throughout Japanese history, from conflicts described in ancient Japanese myth through to contemporary depictions of fantasy and futuristic warfare. It tackles two crucial questions: first, how does war transition from being traumatic to entertaining in the public imagination and works of popular culture; and second, how does visitation to war-related sites transition from being an act of mourning or commemorative pilgrimage into an act of devotion or fan pilgrimage? Representing the collaboration of ten expert researchers of Japanese popular culture and travel, it develops a theoretical framework for understanding war-related contents tourism and demonstrates the framework in practice via numerous short case studies across a millennium of warfare in Japan including: the tales of heroic deities in the Kojiki (Records of Ancient Matters, AD 712), the Edo poetry of Matsuo Basho, and the Pacific war through lens of popular media such as the animated film Grave of the Fireflies. This book will be of interest to researchers and students in tourism studies and cultural studies, as well as more general issues of war and peace in Japan, East Asia and beyond.
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
Below is a sample of some of our reference books. These books are available for use in the Callahan Library only. They can be found in the reference section on the main floor.
Handbook of Research Methods in Tourism by 
Handbook of Tourism and the Environment by 
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism Research by Books located in the "Main Collection" are available for checkout. The Main Collection stacks are located on the upper and lower levels of the library. Items may be brought to the circulation desk on the main level for checkout.
The following are a sample of books located in the Main Collection at the Callahan Library.
The Business of Leisure by
The Business of Leisure critically surveys a wide selection of travel practices, places, and time periods in considering the development of the hospitality industry in Latin America and the Caribbean. Considering tourism from early sojourners to contemporary dark tourism thrill seekers, contributors to The Business of Leisure examine key economic, political, social, and environmental issues. A number of eminent scholars in the field draw on original research focusing on Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, and Peru. In addition to describing key aspects of industry development in a variety of settings, contributors also consider diverse ways in which histories of travel relate to larger political and cultural questions.
Inclusive Tourism Futures by
This book combines studies of inclusivity in tourism with a future lens and provides timely insights into current research and discussions on social inclusion. The chapters examine a range of inclusivity issues and the different ways that inclusive tourism development can be enacted. The volume presents an opportunity to critically consider the different actors and voices in the field of tourism and how to channel these voices and who has the right to do so. It allows us to use our imaginations to consider a future that can be welcoming of different ways of being, doing and knowing to empower all participants in the planning and development of tourism and hospitality.
Millennials, Generation Z and the Future of Tourism by
This book examines the lifestyles, expectations and plans of Millennials and Generation Z and how they are redefining tourism. It demonstrates that if the tourism industry is to enjoy future growth, it must understand and meet the particular needs of these two generations. The volume explores the present and future challenges faced by the tourism industry as a result of the generational turnover, and seeks to answer the following questions: What contribution can the new generations make to the future of tourism? How are technological advancements and social networks shaping future travel trends? Can a generational perspective be useful to help the tourism industry recover from the COVID-19 crisis? The book will be of interest to researchers and students of sociology and tourism studies, as well as tourism professionals.
Overground Railroad by
A New York Times Notable Book, Overground Railroad is the first book to explore the historical role and residual impact of the Green Book, a travel guide for black motorists used for decades when traveling through segregated America. Published from 1936 to 1966, the Green Book was hailed as the "black travel guide to America." At that time, it was both dangerous and difficult for African Americans to travel, because black travelers couldn't eat, sleep, or buy gas at most white-owned businesses. The Green Book listed hotels, restaurants, gas stations, and other businesses that were safe for black travelers. It was a resourceful and innovative solution to a horrific problem. Candacy Taylor writes in her introduction, "The Green Book was published during a time when car travel symbolized freedom in America, but since racial segregation was in full force throughout the country, the open road wasn't open to all. When black motorists picked up a copy of the Green Book, they were greeted by the words 'Just What You Have Been Looking For!! NOW WE CAN TRAVEL WITHOUT EMBARRASSMENT.'" Chapters include: Driving While Black The Business of the Green Book Vacation Music Venues The Roots of Route 66 Women and the Green Book And more! It took courage to be listed in the Green Book, and Overground Railroad celebrates the stories of those who put their names in the book and stood up against segregation. It shows the history of the Green Book, how we arrived at our present historical moment, and how far we still have to go when it comes to race relations and systemic racism in America. Includes color and black-and-white illustrations
Overtourism by
Before COVID-19 hit, the biggest problem in the world of travel was overtourism. Crowds threatened to spoil natural environments and make daily life unbearable for residents of popular travel destinations. Then, seemingly overnight, tourism nearly ceased. Yet there is no question that travel will resume; the only question is, when it does, what will it look like? Will we return to a world of overrun monuments, littered beaches, and gridlocked city streets? Or can we do things differently this time? Overtourism: Lessons for a Better Future charts a path toward tourism that is truly sustainable, focusing on the triple bottom line of people, planet, and prosperity. Bringing together tourism officials, city council members, travel journalists, consultants, scholars, and trade association members, this practical book explores overcrowding from a variety of perspectives. After examining the causes and effects of overtourism, it turns to management approaches in five distinct types of tourism destinations: 1. historic cities; 2. national parks and protected areas; 3. World Heritage Sites; 4. beaches and coastal communities; and 5. destinations governed by regional and national authorities. While each location presents its own challenges, common mitigation strategies are emerging. Visitor education, traffic planning, and redirection to lesser-known sites are among the measures that can protect the economic benefit of tourism without overwhelming local communities. As tourism revives around the world, these innovations will guide government agencies, parks officials, site managers, civic groups, environmental NGOs, tourism operators, and others with a stake in protecting our most iconic places.
Tourism Paradoxes by
At a time when COVID-19 is transforming the tourism industry, this book presents a collection of some of the many contemporary contradictions and inconsistencies apparent in tourism contexts and tourism studies. Increasingly, tourism is regarded as an agent of social and cultural change, in ways which inevitably throw up new and inescapable paradoxes. The chapters draw attention to paradoxes (such as Anglo-Western-centrism/Non-Western imperatives, continued colonisation/decolonisation, political apparatus/people's empowerment, global standards/local dynamics) and their prominence in the tourism field as well as in other disciplines. The volume offers a reconsideration of what may be needed, conceptually and methodologically, in order to equip researchers and practitioners in tourism and related social science fields to better interpret and manage the future of tourism.
Electronic books are available for online viewing. These books are designated in the catalog as "electronic resource" and contain the word "internet" within the call number. Select the "Read Online" link to access the title.
Electronic books may also be searched from the database links below.
