Articles & Databases - SJNY Online - Criminal Justice - LibGuides at St. Joseph's University New York

What is a Database?

Library databases are online catalogs that contain information about journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

They provide:

Citation information for each article (who wrote it, where it was published, etc.)
An abstract (a summary of the article)
The full text of the article (in some cases)

All Databases

Digital Newspapers

New York Times (Digital Edition for Mobile Apps & Desktops)
The New York Times Digital Edition is now available to the SJNY community! Follow the link for activation instructions.
Wall Street Journal (Digital Edition for Mobile Apps & Desktops)
The Wall Street Journal Digital Edition is now available to the SJNY community! Follow the link for activation instructions.

Find Full Text

If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, search again for the article title, along with any other relevant citation information, using the Discovery Search tool. Once you locate the article record, click on "Availability" to determine if any alternate SJNY Library databases provide access.

If one or more databases provide access, click on the "View Full Text" link(s) to find the full text.

If no databases provide access, then you can request the article through Interlibrary loan using the Tipasa system.

Journal Locator

Use the Journal Locator to discover if the library subscribes to a specific journal title.

Discovery

Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!

Background Information

Start your reseach by locating background information in these databases.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current issues and events.

Oxford Reference Online
Online reference dictionaries in art, science, religion, language, literature, business and social science, and more.

Article Databases

These databases are relevant to locating articles relating to Criminology.

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) (Gale -NOVELNY) This link opens in a new window
Articles and reports focusing on law and law enforcement
Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program, Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.

NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile) (Gale - NOVELNY) This link opens in a new window
Articles and reports covering governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, and the structure of the armed forces.
Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program, Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence contains scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily, content supports key subject areas, such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).

Multidisciplinary Research Databases

EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new window
Main search platform for all EBSCO databases.
Main menu for all EBSCO databases. Allows simultaneous searching across general, business, health, education, and newspaper databases
Gale Product Menu (Gale - NOVELNY) This link opens in a new window
Main menu for all NOVELNY Gale databases.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Main menu to search all ProQuest databases.
Allows simultaneous searching across general, business, newspaper, psychology, religion, education, social sciences and health management databases.

Google Scholar

Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, indexed by Google.

SJNY Online - Criminal Justice: Articles & Databases