Encyclopedias and handbooks in all major subject areas.
Provides access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering all major subject areas. Topic Pages offer pathways for further research, Mind Maps illustrate relationships between topics, and over 200,000 images are ready to use without digital rights management (DRM) restrictions.
Collection of resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, over 10,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. Please note that SJC Libraries do not subscribe to all of the titles, but users can use this as an index.
BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 276 peer-reviewed open access journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely accessible online immediately upon publication. BioMed Central levies an article-processing charge to cover the cost of the publication process. Authors publishing with BioMed Central retain the copyright to their work, licensing it under the Creative Commons Attribution License which allows articles to be re-used and re-distributed without restriction, as long as the original work is correctly cited. BioMed Central is owned by Springer Science+Business Media, and also hosts the SpringerOpen platform.
This is a full text database through over 25 science and technology specific indexes (including MEDLINE® and ASFA).
A full-text database covering comprehensive scholarly output, managed by an expert editorial team overseeing content selection and indexing supported by a controlled vocabulary.
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Articles on Environmental Science and related disciplines.
A full-text database that covers comprehensive scholarly output, managed by an expert editorial team overseeing content selection and indexing supported by a controlled vocabulary
The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines. It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
Articles covering the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals on the latest scientific developments.
Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program.
NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
ProQuest Science Database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.
Whether you're researching the effects of global warming or interested in the latest scandal surrounding genetically modified food, ProQuest Science Journals will guide you directly to the information you need. ProQuest Science Journals provides unmatched research support for both the applied and general sciences. Perfect for students in academic research environments, this impressive collection of scientific journals offers users a one-stop resource for their research needs.
With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1,145 titles—with more than 965 available in full text. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
A special collection of journals covering a wide range of subject areas such as physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
SJNY Libraries subscribe to the full text of several journals in the ScienceDirect database:
Applied Nursing Research
Archives of Psychiatric Nursing
Child Abuse & Neglect
Contemporary Educational Psychology
Early Childhood Research Quarterly
Journal for Nurse Practitioners
Journal of Academic Librarianship
Journal of Adolescence
Journal of Criminal Justice
Journal of Pediatric Nursing
Journal of Professional Nursing
Journal of School Psychology
Nursing Clinics of North America
Nursing Outlook
Additionally, this database provides access to Open Access articles, as well as abstracts and citations to journal articles and book chapters published by Elsevier covering a wide range of subject areas such as physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Public Library of Science (PLoS) Biology (eISSN-1545-7885; ISSN-1544-9173) is an open-access, peer-reviewed general biology journal published by PLOS, a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource. New articles are published online weekly; issues are published monthly.
