LibGuides: Criminal Justice (McEntegart Library): Books

Interlibrary Loan

Need a book that McEntegart Hall Library doesn't own?

Have books and articles sent here for free!

Call Numbers

A call number indicates where an item is in the library. The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system which groups items by subject.

HV6035-6197 Criminal anthropology

HV6251-6773.55 Crimes & offenses

HV6250-6250.4 Victims of crimes

HV7428 Social work w/ criminals

HV7431 Prevention of crime

HV7551-8280.7 Police. Detectives

HV8301-9920.7 Penology. Prisons.

Google Books

Ebook Databases

Credo Reference

Provides access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering all major subject areas. Topic Pages offer pathways for further research, Mind Maps illustrate relationships between topics, and over 200,000 images are ready to use without digital rights management (DRM) restrictions.
Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)

Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
eBooks (GVRL)

Gale eBooks (GVRL)
A multidisciplinary collection of eBooks.
e-book collection (EBSCOhost)
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America brings together more than 550 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Links to nearly 500 scholarly articles,* an extensive bibliography, and a balanced selection of external resources to further research this subject are also provided. Research the National Firearms Act, the United States v. Miller and District of Columbia v. Heller decisions, and other key aspects of this subject.
MUSE in Focus: Addressing Gun Violence

Project MUSE, the massive online collection of scholarship administered by Johns Hopkins University Press and accessible primarily through university libraries, is providing free access to more than a dozen journal articles and books focused on understanding and preventing gun violence. The goal is to encourage the broadest possible engagement with current research and expertise on the topic as the latest round of gun policy debates and discussions continue.

Discovery: McEntegart Hall Library

Print Circulating Books

The Feminist War on Crime by Aya Gruber
Call Number: Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor HV9469 .G78 2020
Halfway Home: Race, Punishment, and the Afterlife of Mass Incarceration by Jonathan Miller Reuben
Call Number: Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor HV9304.M543 2021
The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander
Call Number: Reserve Collection - 2 hour - Circulation Desk- 1st Floor HV9950 .A437 2020
The Violence Project by Jillian Peterson; James Densley
Call Number: Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor HV6536.5 P48 2001

Access Other Libraries

Need a book that McEntegart Hall Library doesn't own?

Visit another NY library!

Search the other library's online catalog for an item
Visit our Reference Desk for a referral card
Visit the other library to study & borrow items

Academic Libraries of Brooklyn
Allows you to borrow and use an item on-site.
MaRLI
The Manhattan Research Libraries Initiative offers approved NYPL cardholders with a demonstrable research need the ability to access and borrow select materials owned by Columbia University and NYU.
METRO
Member libraries allow you to use an item on-site.

Ebooks

Collision Course by Kathleen Auerhahn
Publication Date: 2022
Criminal Careers by Witold Klaus (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022
Criminology: a Complete Introduction: Teach Yourself by Peter Joyce
Publication Date: 2023
Fitting the Facts of Crime by Chad Posick
Publication Date: 2022
Macrocriminology and Freedom by John Braithwaite
Publication Date: 2022
Mass Murder and Serial Murder by Arnon Edelstein
Publication Date: 2020