Faculty Resources (McEntegart Library): Course Reserves

If any faculty member is interested in making a purchase request, please submit a purchase request form.

For adding a link to library licensed content (i.e. an ebook or an article from the databases) into your Blackboard course, please use the following EZProxy address before the link to the article or ebook:

https://ez.sjny.edu/login?url=   

Also, make sure you use ...

• "permalink" (Ebsco)
• "document URL" (Proquest)
• "stable URL" (JSTOR)

after the EZProxy.

Never copy and paste the URL from the address bar.

Articles, books and media from the library collection or personal copies of books may be placed on reserve, as well as scanned readings and websites in the electronic reserves system. To reserve an item, please submit a request at least FOUR weeks before the class begins (longer if the library must first acquire the material). Material will remain on reserve for the semester, and will be returned to the shelves or faculty member once classes have ended.

• Scanning services - Please provide a clear photocopied version of the item(s) you would like scanned and uploaded for reserve with any appropriate bibliographic information clearly stated on the copy (i.e. include the copyright page of the book you are excerpting from). 
• Database Articles - the library can locate and upload PDF copies of articles that you assign your students. (If the article is not available in a database we subscribe to, we can request it through ILL.
• Textbooks - the library has acquired many course textbooks over the years and yours may be available. For newer editions, the library considers purchasing the book (or A/V material) on a case by case basis.  Alternatively, we accept donations of desk copies or you can temporarily lend the library your copy for the semester.
• Audio/Visual - the Library has a growing Audio Visual collection, but if there is a particular item you would like to see added, please contact us.

The library policy for placing photocopies of published copyrighted materials on reserve is derived from the fair use provision of the Copyright Law of the United States of America.  A general rule to consider is that up to 10% of the whole can be scanned and put on the system. This applies to Blackboard as well - see section on Copyright for Faculty.

If a faculty member is interested in updating or creating a course reserves page, please contact the library at  mcentegart@sjny.edu or 718.940.5877.

Ebooks come in many formats and from different locations. Some can be accessed for free on the Internet (i.e. archive.org, Project Gutenberg); others must be purchased from publishers or distributors.

The library subscribes to several ebook databases (ebrary & ACLS Humanities), giving you and your students access to quality academic materials. Some books must be read online, while others can be downloaded to devices with apps and software.

As technology continues to evolve uniformity should become more commonplace, but for now we must maintain various platforms. Let us know if you need help with any of them.

Search for EBooks in:

• McEntegart Library Catalog
• Ebrary Database
• Project Gutenberg