Need a book that McEntegart Hall Library doesn't own?
Have books and articles sent here for free!
A call number indicates where an item is in the library. The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system which groups items by subject.
H - Social Sciences
HN, HV1-4995 - Social Problems/Welfare
HT - Community
HV4997-6000 - Drugs
Q - Science
QH - Biology
QM - Human anatomy
QP - Physiology
QR - Microbiology
R - Medicine
RA - Public aspects of medicine
RB - Pathology
RC - Internal medicine
RD - Surgery
RG - Gynecology and obstetrics
RJ - Pediatrics
RM - Pharmacology
RS - Pharmacy
RT - Nursing
Need a book that McEntegart Hall Library doesn't own?
Visit another NY library!
Building Connected Communities of Care by
As a community, aligning efforts across a community to support the safety and well-being of vulnerable and underserved individuals is extraordinarily difficult. These individuals suffer disproportionally from health issues, job loss, a lack of stable housing, high utility costs, substance abuse, and homelessness. In addition to medical care, these individuals often critically need access to community social sector organizations that provide a distinct and complementary set of services, such as housing, food services, emergency utility assistance, and employment assistance. These services are just as vital as healthcare services to these individuals' long-term health and well-being, with data suggesting that 80-90% of health outcomes can be attributed to factors beyond direct medical intervention. This book proposes a novel approach to the coordination of medicine and social services through the use of people, process, and technology, with the goal being to streamline coordination between medical and Community-Based Organizations and to promote true cross-sector patient and client advocacy. The book is based on the experience of Dallas, TX, which was one of the first metropolitan regions to develop a comprehensive foundation for partnership between a community's clinical and social sectors using web-based information exchange. In the 5 years since the initial launch, the authors have been able to provide seamless connection, communication, and coordination between healthcare providers and a wide array of community-based social service organizations (a/k/a Community-Based Organizations or CBOs), criminal justice entities, and various other community organizations, including non-collegiate educational systems. This practical how-to guide is the codification of transferrable lessons from successes and challenges faced when working with clinical, community, and government leaders. By reading this playbook, leaders interested in building (or expanding) connected clinical-community services will learn how to: 1) facilitate cross-sector care coordination; 2) enable community care partners to better provide targeted services to community residents; 3) reduce duplication of services across partnering organizations; and 4) help to bridge service gaps in the currently fragmented system. Implementation of services, as recommended in this book, will ultimately streamline assistance efforts, reduce repeat crises and emergency funding requests, help address disparities of care, and improve the health, safety, and well-being of the most vulnerable community residents.
Doing Human Service Ethnography by
EPDF and EPUB available Open Access under CC-BY-NC-ND licence. Human service work is performed in many places - hospitals, shelters, households - and is characterised by a complex mixture of organising principles, relations and rules. Using ethnographic methods, researchers can investigate these site-specific complexities, providing multi-dimensional and compelling analyses. Bringing together both theoretical and practical material, this book shows researchers how ethnography can be carried out within human service settings. It provides an invaluable guide on how to apply ethnographic creativeness and offers a more humanistic and context-sensitive approach in the field of health and social care to generating valid knowledge about today's service work.
Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders by
The Second Edition of this major reference work expands its coverage and continues to break new ground as an electronic resource for students, educators, researchers, and professionals. Comprehensive in breath and textbook in depth, the Second Edition of the Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders serves as a reference repository of knowledge in the field as well as a regularly updated conduit of new knowledge long before such information trickles down from research to standard textbooks. The Second Edition of the Encyclopedia digests and presents new and updated information for readers who need to stay current with the latest research and clinical practices, including advances in neurobiology and genetics, diagnostic instruments and assessment tests, pharmaceutical treatments, and behavioral, speech and language, and other rehabilitative therapies. The Second Edition of the Encyclopedia covers topics across the following major conceptual areas of ASD andPDDs, including: Research trends and findings Behavior/speech Communication Treatments Education Taking advantage of the techniques offered by the electronic medium, the Second Edition of the Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders offers an extensive cross-referencing system facilitating search and retrieval of information. This unique, comprehensive Second Edition of the Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders is an essential reference for advanced undergraduate and graduate students as well as researchers, professors, clinicians, and other practitioners across such related disciplines as developmental psychology, child and adolescent psychiatry, social work, child and school psychology, behavioral therapy, and sociology of education.
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Pedagogies for Social Work by
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Pedagogies for Social Work traverses new territory by providing a cutting-edge overview of the work of classic and contemporary theorists, in a way that expands their application and utility in social work education and practice; thus, providing a bridge between critical theory, philosophy, and social work. Each chapter showcases the work of a specific critical educational, philosophical, and/or social theorist including: Henry Giroux, Michel Foucault, Cornelius Castoriadis, Herbert Marcuse, Paulo Freire, bell hooks, Joan Tronto, Iris Marion Young, Karl Marx, Antonio Gramsci, and many others, to elucidate the ways in which their key pedagogic concepts can be applied to specific aspects of social work education and practice. The text exhibits a range of research-based approaches to educating social work practitioners as agents of social change. It provides a robust, and much needed, alternative paradigm to the technique-driven 'conservative revolution' currently being fostered by neoliberalism in both social work education and practice. The volume will be instructive for social work educators who aim to teach for social change, by assisting students to develop counter-hegemonic practices of resistance and agency, and reflecting on the pedagogic role of social work practice more widely. The volume holds relevance for both postgraduate and undergraduate/qualifying social work and human services courses around the world.
