LibGuides: Journalism and New Media Studies (McEntegart Library): Books

Interlibrary Loan

Need a book that McEntegart Hall Library doesn't own?

Have books and articles sent here for free!

Call Numbers

A call number (opens in new tab) indicates where an item is in the library. The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system which groups items by subject.

KF 4770 Freedom of Speech

P 87-96 Mass Media (Communication)

PE English Language (dictionaries, grammar, style)

PN4699-5650 Journalism. The periodical press, etc.

PN4735-4748 Relation to the state. Government and the press. Liberty of the press

PN4775-4784 Technique. Practical journalism

PN4825-4830 Amateur journalism

Z 657-659 Freedom of the Press. Censorship.

Print Books

#HashtagActivism by Brooke Foucault Welles
Call Number: Circulating Collection - 3rd Floor P302.37 .J35 2020
The Associated Press Stylebook 2022-2024, 56th edition by The Associated Press
Call Number: Reference Collection - 1st Floor REF PN4783 .A83 2022
The Crowdsourced Panopticon by Jeremy Weissman
Call Number: Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor HM861 .W46 2021
Pain Generation by L. Ayu Saraswati
Call Number: Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor HF5549.5.S45 S485 2021
Political Cyberbullying by Sheri Bauman
Call Number: Circulating Collection - 2nd Floor HV6773.15.C92 B38 2020

Discovery: McEntegart Hall Library

Google Books

Ebook Databases

Credo Reference
Encyclopedias and handbooks in all major subject areas.

Provides access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering all major subject areas. Topic Pages offer pathways for further research, Mind Maps illustrate relationships between topics, and over 200,000 images are ready to use without digital rights management (DRM) restrictions.
e-book collection (EBSCOhost)
E-books covering a wide range of subject areas.
Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)
E-books covering a wide range of subject areas.

Ebook Central provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas along with powerful tools to find, use, and manage the information.
eBooks (GVRL)
Ebooks on various subjects.

Gale eBooks (GVRL)
A multidisciplinary collection of eBooks.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
Journal and book series directory that includes publication details, editorial policies, submission requirements, electronic availability, subscription information and statistics.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover publication details, contact information, submission requirements and editorial policies, subscription terms, electronic availability and advertising, and useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.
MLA Handbook Plus
Follow the "Access the Handbook" button to view the Full text of the ninth edition of the handbook.

Access Other Libraries

Need a book that McEntegart Hall Library doesn't own?

Visit another NY library!

Search the other library's online catalog for an item
Visit our Reference Desk for a referral card
Visit the other library to study & borrow items

Academic Libraries of Brooklyn
Allows you to borrow and use an item on-site.
MaRLI
The Manhattan Research Libraries Initiative offers approved NYPL cardholders with a demonstrable research need the ability to access and borrow select materials owned by Columbia University and NYU.
METRO
Member libraries allow you to use an item on-site.

Ebooks

Arab Media Systems by Claudia Kozman
Publication Date: 2021
Death of the Daily News by Andrew Conte
Publication Date: 2022
News Literacy and Democracy by Seth Ashley
Publication Date: 2020
Participation, Engagement and Collaboration in Newsmaking by Jana Declercq
Publication Date: 2021
Understanding Contemporary Journalism: A Handbook of Principles and Practices by Tatah Menten
Publication Date: 2022
The Universal Journalist by David Randall
Publication Date: 2021