Need a book that McEntegart Hall Library doesn't own?
Have books and articles sent here for free!
A call number indicates where an item is in the library.
The Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system which groups items by subject.
QA 101-145 Elementary Mathematics. Arithmetic.
QA 150-272.5 Algebra.
QA 273-280 Probabilities. Mathematical Statistics.
QA 299.6-433 Analysis.
QA 440-699 Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology.
QA 801-939 Analytic Mechanics.
The Art of More: How Mathematics Created Civilization by
An illuminating, millennia-spanning history of the impact mathematics has had on the world, and the fascinating people who have mastered its inherent power Counting is not innate to our nature, and without education humans can rarely count past three -- beyond that, it's just "more." But once harnessed by our ancestors, the power of numbers allowed humanity to flourish in ways that continue to lead to discoveries and enrich our lives today. Ancient tax collectors used basic numeracy to fuel the growth of early civilization, navigators used clever geometrical tricks to engage in trade and connect people across vast distances, astronomers used logarithms to unlock the secrets of the heavens, and their descendants put them to use to land us on the moon. In every case, mathematics has proved to be a greatly underappreciated engine of human progress. In this captivating, sweeping history, Michael Brooks acts as our guide through the ages. He makes the case that mathematics was one of the foundational innovations that catapulted humanity from a nomadic existence to civilization, and that it has since then been instrumental in every great leap of humankind. Here are ancient Egyptian priests, Babylonian bureaucrats, medieval architects, dueling Swiss brothers, renaissance painters, and an eccentric professor who invented the infrastructure of the online world. Their stories clearly demonstrate that the invention of mathematics was every bit as important to the human species as was the discovery of fire. From first page to last, The Art of More brings mathematics back into the heart of what it means to be human.
A Mathematical Primer of Molecular Phylogenetics by
This volume, A Mathematical Primer of Molecular Phylogenetics, offers a unique perspective on a number of phylogenetic issues that have not been covered in detail in previous publications. The volume provides sufficient mathematical background for young mathematicians and computational scientists, as well as mathematically inclined biology students, to make a smooth entry into the expanding field of molecular phylogenetics. The book will also provide sufficient details for researchers in phylogenetics to understand the workings of existing software packages used. The volume offers comprehensive but detailed numerical illustrations to render difficult mathematical and computational concepts in molecular phylogenetics accessible to a variety of readers with different academic background. The text includes examples of solved problems after each chapter, which will be particularly helpful for fourth-year undergraduates, postgraduates, and postdoctoral students in biology, mathematics and computer sciences. Researchers in molecular biology and evolution will find it very informative as well.
Mathematics for Human Flourishing by
Winner of the Mathematics Association of America's 2021 Euler Book Prize, this is an inclusive vision of mathematics--its beauty, its humanity, and its power to build virtues that help us all flourish "This is perhaps the most important mathematics book of our time. Francis Su shows mathematics is an experience of the mind and, most important, of the heart."--James Tanton, Global Math Project "A good book is an entertaining read. A great book holds up a mirror that allows us to more clearly see ourselves and the world we live in. Francis Su's Mathematics for Human Flourishing is both a good book and a great book."--MAA Reviews For mathematician Francis Su, a society without mathematical affection is like a city without concerts, parks, or museums. To miss out on mathematics is to live without experiencing some of humanity's most beautiful ideas. In this profound book, written for a wide audience but especially for those disenchanted by their past experiences, an award‑winning mathematician and educator weaves parables, puzzles, and personal reflections to show how mathematics meets basic human desires--such as for play, beauty, freedom, justice, and love--and cultivates virtues essential for human flourishing. These desires and virtues, and the stories told here, reveal how mathematics is intimately tied to being human. Some lessons emerge from those who have struggled, including philosopher Simone Weil, whose own mathematical contributions were overshadowed by her brother's, and Christopher Jackson, who discovered mathematics as an inmate in a federal prison. Christopher's letters to the author appear throughout the book and show how this intellectual pursuit can--and must--be open to all.
Need a book that McEntegart Hall Library doesn't own?
Visit another NY library!
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics by
With over 4,000 entries, this informative A to Z provides clear, jargon-free definitions on a wide variety of mathematical terms. Its entries cover both pure and applied mathematics, and include key theories, concepts, methods, programmes, people, and terminology. For this sixth edition, around 800 new terms have been defined, expanding on the dictionary's coverage of topics such as algebra, differential geometry, algebraic geometry, representation theory, and statistics. Among this new material are articles such as cardinal arithmetic, first fundamental form, Lagrange's theorem, Navier-Stokes equations, potential, and splitting field. The existing entries have also been revised and updated to account for developments in the field. Numerous supplementary features complement the text, including detailed appendices on basic algebra, areas and volumes, trigonometric formulae, and Roman numerals. Newly added to these sections is a historical timeline of significant mathematicians lives and the emergence of key theorems. There are also illustrations, graphs, and charts throughout the text, as well as useful web links to provide access to further reading.
Differential Equations by
This new book from one of the most published authors in all of mathematics is an attempt to offer a new, more modern take on the Differential Equations course. The world is changing. Because of the theory of wavelets, Fourier analysis is ever more important and central. And applications are a driving force behind much of mathematics.This text text presents a more balanced picture. The text covers differential equations (both ordinary and partial), Fourier analysis and applications in equal measure and with equal weight. The Riemann integral is used throughout. We do not assume that the student knows any functional analysis. We likewise do not assume that the student has had a course in undergraduate real analysis. To make the book timely and exciting, a substantial chapter on basic properties of wavelets, with applications to signal processing and image processing is included. This should give students and instructors alike a taste of what is happening in the subject today.
Making up Numbers: A History of Invention in Mathematics by
Making up Numbers: A History of Invention in Mathematics offers a detailed but accessible account of a wide range of mathematical ideas. Starting with elementary concepts, it leads the reader towards aspects of current mathematical research. The book explains how conceptual hurdles in the development of numbers and number systems were overcome in the course of history, from Babylon to Classical Greece, from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance, and so to the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The narrative moves from the Pythagorean insistence on positive multiples to the gradual acceptance of negative numbers, irrationals and complex numbers as essential tools in quantitative analysis. Within this chronological framework, chapters are organised thematically, covering a variety of topics and contexts: writing and solving equations, geometric construction, coordinates and complex numbers, perceptions of 'infinity' and its permissible uses in mathematics, number systems, and evolving views of the role of axioms. Through this approach, the author demonstrates that changes in our understanding of numbers have often relied on the breaking of long-held conventions to make way for new inventions at once providing greater clarity and widening mathematical horizons. Viewed from this historical perspective, mathematical abstraction emerges as neither mysterious nor immutable, but as a contingent, developing human activity. Making up Numbers will be of great interest to undergraduate and A-level students of mathematics, as well as secondary school teachers of the subject. In virtue of its detailed treatment of mathematical ideas, it will be of value to anyone seeking to learn more about the development of the subject.
Spectral Geometry of Partial Differential Operators (Open Access) by
The aim of Spectral Geometry of Partial Differential Operators is to provide a basic and self-contained introduction to the ideas underpinning spectral geometric inequalities arising in the theory of partial differential equations. Historically, one of the first inequalities of the spectral geometry was the minimization problem of the first eigenvalue of the Dirichlet Laplacian. Nowadays, this type of inequalities of spectral geometry have expanded to many other cases with number of applications in physics and other sciences. The main reason why the results are useful, beyond the intrinsic interest of geometric extremum problems, is that they produce a priori bounds for spectral invariants of (partial differential) operators on arbitrary domains. Features: Collects the ideas underpinning the inequalities of the spectral geometry, in both self-adjoint and non-self-adjoint operator theory, in a way accessible by anyone with a basic level of understanding of linear differential operators Aimed at theoretical as well as applied mathematicians, from a wide range of scientific fields, including acoustics, astronomy, MEMS, and other physical sciences Provides a step-by-step guide to the techniques of non-self-adjoint partial differential operators, and for the applications of such methods. Provides a self-contained coverage of the traditional and modern theories of linear partial differential operators, and does not require a previous background in operator theory.
