Please refer to the Library E-Resources and Accessibility Guide for details regarding the accessibility of our various library resources.
Below is a sample of some of our reference books. These books are available for use in the Callahan Library only. They can be found in the reference section on the main floor.
American Countercultures by
Counterculture, while commonly used to describe youth-oriented movements during the 1960s, refers to any attempt to challenge or change conventional values and practices or the dominant lifestyles of the day. This fascinating three-volume set explores these movements in America from colonial times to the present in colorful detail. "American Countercultures" is the first reference work to examine the impact of countercultural movements on American social history. It highlights the writings, recordings, and visual works produced by these movements to educate, inspire, and incite action in all eras of the nation's history. A-Z entries provide a wealth of information on personalities, places, events, concepts, beliefs, groups, and practices. The set includes numerous illustrations, a topic finder, primary source documents, a bibliography and a filmography, and an index.
Digital Literacy: Skills & Strategies
Aims to introduce users to explanations of cutting-edge, as well as everyday, technology, explaining these technologies and their primary elements through clear prose informed by expert analysis.--
Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties by
Spanning three volumes, this comprehensive encyclopedia of over six hundred entries covers the full range of civil rights and liberties in America from the antecedents of the Bill of Rights through the most recent controversies over political and social issues, including abortion, free speech, religious liberty, voting rights, and the guarantees of equality. It also addresses the civil rights and liberties issues stemming from America's ongoing war on terrorism. Detailed entries include key concepts, historical events and developments, major trials and appellate court decisions, landmark legislation, legal doctrines, important personalities, and key organizations and agencies. Entries have an objective tone, allowing readers to draw their own conclusions. Designed as an up-to-date reference source for students, scholars, and citizens, the encyclopedia will help broaden and heighten understanding and appreciation for the wide range of issues associated with civil rights and liberties in the United States, and is the most sophisticated treatment available. The volumes of the encyclopedia consist of original entries, arranged alphabetically, on many current hot-button issues as well as in-depth coverage of the rights Americans hold sacred. Written by experts in the field, including attorneys, judges, and legal scholars, the encyclopedia takes a historical-legal approach, providing important information on the background and development of an issue or event. The third volume concludes with over three dozen essential primary documents, including landmark statutes, key court decisions, and influential essays.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin America's 37 countries. New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Chavez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession. Edited by Jay Kinsbruner and an international team of consultants on three continents.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide by
From the skyrocketing AIDS rate in Haiti to the oppressive pollution in industrial China, from the violent street culture of Nigeria to the crippling poverty in Nicaragua, from child trafficking in Thailand to child marriages in India, this jam-packed six-volume set explores all these issues and more in an unprecedented look at the world's children at the dawn of the 21st century. In recent years, while many countries have enjoyed a higher standard of living and improved working conditions, others have been torn apart by war and incapacitated by famine, and are struggling to improve life for their children and their future. Recent concern over the world's children has resulted in a global attempt to define what constitutes an acceptable childhood. New attention has been paid, not only to healthcare and secondary education, but also to the right to play and increased access to technology. The UN's codification of children's rights has done much to expand our understanding of what is needed for healthy growth and development of children and youth. Organized by region, The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide is the first globally focused set of this magnitude, offering extensive, up-to-date coverage of these critical issues. Original chapters accessibly synthesize current data on key topics, including education, play and recreation, child labor, family, health, laws and legal status, religious life, abuse and neglect, and growing up in the 21st century.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business by
This set addresses the full breadth of American business history. There are overviews on different sectors of the economy, such as agriculture and banking; individual industries such as advertising and electronics; and general topics like business cycles, consumer boycotts, and outsourcing. There are also overviews on general legal topics such as bankruptcy and patent laws.
History of Modern Art by
Long consideredthesurvey of modern art, this engrossing and liberally illustrated text traces the development of trends and influences in painting, sculpture, photography and architecture from the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. Retaining its comprehensive nature and chronological approach, it now comes thoroughly reworked by Elizabeth Mansfield, an experienced art historian and writer, with refreshing new analyses, a considerably expanded picture program, and a more absorbing and unified narrative.
The Oxford History of Western Music by
A survey of the traditions of western music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, this book illuminates, through a representative sampling of masterworks, those themes, styles, and currents that give shape and direction to each musical age.
The Psychology of Fake News by
This volume examines the phenomenon of fake news by bringing together leading experts from different fields within psychology and related areas, and explores what has become a prominent feature of public discourse since the first Brexit referendum and the 2016 US election campaign. Dealing with misinformation is important in many areas of daily life, from politics and the marketplace to health communication, journalism, education, and science. At a time when facts and misinformation blur, and are intentionally blurred, this book asks what determines whether people accept and share (mis)information, and what can be done to counter misinformation? Experts from psychology and related behavioural sciences summarize key empirical findings, theories, and applications, and discuss cutting‐edge ideas. They shed light on what contributes to the acceptance and the sharing of fake news, and emphasize the critical role of online social networks in recent years. Their insights provide guidance on how to handle misinformation in an age of "alternative facts," making this book a fascinating and vital reading for students, academics, and practitioners in psychology, education, communication, journalism, public health, policy making, and political science.
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
Materials in the Callahan Library are arranged according to the Library of Congress (LOC) Classification System. Books in the library are arranged by call number, which shelves books by their main subjects. This means that books with similar subjects will appear near each other when you browse, allowing you to find multiple books on a topic that interest you.
There are several options available for searching material outside the St. Joseph's College Libraries.
Analytic Induction for Social Research by
A free ebook version of this title is available through Luminos, University of California Press's Open Access publishing program. Visit www.luminosoa.org to learn more. This book explores analytic induction, an approach to the analysis of cross-case evidence on qualitative outcomes that has deep roots in sociology. A popular research technique in the early decades of empirical sociology, analytic induction differs fundamentally as a method of social research from conventional variation-based approaches. In Analytic Induction for Social Research, Charles C. Ragin demonstrates that much is gained from systematizing analytic induction. The approach he introduces here offers a new template for conducting cross-case analysis and provides a new set of tools for answering common research questions that existing methods cannot address.
Research, Writing, and Creative Process in Open and Distance Education by 
Research Design in the Social Sciences by
A state-of-the-art approach to evaluating research design for students and scholars across the social sciences Assessing the properties of research designs before implementing them can be tricky for even the most seasoned researchers. This book provides a powerful framework--Model, Inquiry, Data Strategy, and Answer Strategy, or MIDA--for describing any empirical research design in the social sciences. MIDA enables you to characterize the key analytic features of observational and experimental designs, qualitative and quantitative designs, and descriptive and causal designs. An accompanying algorithm lets you declare designs in the MIDA framework, diagnose properties such as bias and precision, and redesign features like sampling, assignment, measurement, and estimation procedures. Research Design in the Social Sciences is an essential tool kit for the entire life of a research project, from planning and realization of design to the integration of your results into the scientific literature. A must-have resource for current and future researchers who want to learn about the properties of their designs before they implement them Includes a library of the most common designs in the social sciences Provides a complete declaration of the canonical design for each library entry, describes the circumstances under which the design can be strong or weak, and explores the consequences of the choices under the research designer's control Accompanied by online resources that can be used in conjunction with the book An ideal textbook for graduate students and advanced undergraduates
The Six Academic Writing Assignments by
Writing assignments are road maps-or they should be. They guide the writer on a journey. They lay out a process, envision a destination. They are designed. As Jim Burke explains it: "What we are really doing when we create a year's worth of writing assignments, of experiences, is designing a story. Each day's class a sentence, each week a paragraph, each unit a chapter in the story of the year students spend in our classes. And as with any good story, there needs to be tension and transformation by the time one arrives at the end, or what I have called 'the user's journey.'" These maps are crucially important for engaging students with academic writing, which is often unfamiliar territory. Drawing on his extensive review of academic writing assignments across the country, Jim identifies six major categories of writing assignments that help students become better writers, readers, and thinkers: - Writing to learn - Short answer - Writing on demand - Process paper (which goes through multiple drafts) - Research paper/report - Alternate forms (multimedia presentations, etc.). For each assignment type, Jim invites us into his own practice. He shows how he composes the assignment, how he creates gateway activities to help prepare students, how he troubleshoots common problems, how he gives response, how he clarifies the criteria on which students will be judged. He also shows how these assignments are related-how the earlier assignments build to later more complex ones So please join a master teacher at work. Take this journey with him.
The Student's Survival Guide to Research by
Jumping head first into a research project is a surefire recipe for stress and confusion. But if you're a newbie, how do you know where to begin, let alone where to go from there? Library instruction expert McAdoo has penned a primer specifically tailored to novice researchers, offering beginning-to-end guidance for every step of the research process, from planning and preparing to conducting and writing. Structured in a way that's easy to digest, McAdoo shows students what research is and what it entails, the stages of research, and the elements of a term paper; the essential steps in preparing for research, and how to understand the assignment; how libraries and librarians can help; pointers for selecting a research topic and appropriate information tools; strategies for conducting searches that will save time and effort, from using keywords to constructing more sophisticated searches; how to understand, read, and evaluate search results; the dos and don'ts of conducting research ethically, including how to cite sources and how and why to avoid plagiarism; and guidance for shaping research results into quality writing. Students will appreciate the book's clear and concise language regarding the research process, while teachers, faculty, YA staff, and academic librarians will find it a valuable tool for information literacy.
Studying Complex Interactions and Outcomes Through Qualitative Comparative Analysis by
Studying Complex Interactions and Outcomes Through Qualitative Comparative Analysis: A Practical Guide to Comparative Case Studies and Ethnographic Data Analysis offers practical, methodological, and theoretically robust guidelines to systematically study the causalities, dynamics, and outcomes of complex social interactions in multiple source data sets. It demonstrates how to convert data from multisited ethnography of investment politics, mobilizations, and citizen struggles into a Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA). In this book, Markus Kröger focuses on how data collected primarily via multisited political ethnography, supplemented by other materials and verified by multiple forms of triangulation, can be systematically analyzed through QCA. The results of this QCA offer insight on how to study the political and economic outcomes in natural resource conflicts, across different contexts and political systems. This book applies the method in practice using examples from the author's own research. With a focus on social movement studies, it shows how QCA can be used to analyze a multiple data source database, that includes results from multiple case studies. This book is a practical guide for researchers and students in social movement studies and other disciplines that produce ethnographic data from multiple sources on how to analyze complex databases through the QCA.
Writing for Publication in Nursing by
Designated a Doody's Core Title! "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars -Doody's Medical Reviews "Teaching writing is the biggest challenge when teaching these courses including the mechanics of writing and how to organize...manuscripts. Manuscript writing is so much different than writing a paper for a grade. Students don't always appreciate the amount of time and attention to detail that a manuscript takes. [This book is] excellent. Gives the students a broad overview of writing yet includes specifics, such as how to create tables." -Kimberly Whiteman, DNP, MSN Waynesburg University Praise for previous edition This award-winning book has helped thousands of nursing students and nurses produce high quality work, with its focus on all aspects of writing for professional publication. The new fifth edition offers two-color design to enhance the reading experience, expanded coverage on selecting a journal, conducting and reporting a literature review, reporting evidence syntheses, and preparing DNP projects as manuscripts, as well as a greater variety of journal examples. A full chapter on writing research reports makes this edition particularly useful for PhD students and researchers. Designed for nursing students in MSN, DNP, and PhD programs along with faculty and practitioners interested in disseminating their scholarship, this comprehensive resource demystifies the process of writing for publication with easy-to-follow examples and expert guidance. It leads nurses step-by-step through scholarly writing from idea to publication with clear direction for a multitude of writing formats, including case reports, editorials, chapters, books, and more. Instructor Resources include a sample course syllabus, an online course with 17 modules, and PowerPoints for each module. New to the Fifth Edition: Enhanced reading experience with two-color design Expanded coverage of literature reviews, writing research reports and manuscripts on quality improvement, and content related to publishing DNP scholarly projects Types of evidence syntheses, steps to follow, and reporting guidelines Increased guidance on selecting a journal and open access Responding to peer reviews Greater variety of journal examples reflecting expanded publishing options Key Features: Takes readers through the entire process of writing for publication from idea to completion Delivers strategies for conducting and writing literature reviews, research reports, evidence syntheses, quality improvement and clinical practice articles, chapters, books, and more Includes learner exercises to guide development of competencies in each chapter Offers tips for turning dissertations, DNP scholarly projects, and course assignments into manuscripts Details submission, editorial review, and publication processes
Electronic books are available for online viewing. These books are designated as "eBook" in the catalog, and can be accessed by clicking on the View eBook button.
Alternately, electronic books may also be searched directly from the databases using the links below.
