Call numbers indicate where an item is located within the library. The Callahan Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system which groups items by subject matter.
The following call numbers will help you locate items relevant to nursing.
HV Social and Public Welfare
QA Human Anatomy
QP Physiology
R Medicine
RA Public Aspects of Medicine
RC Internal Medicine
RM Therapeutics/Pharmacology
RT Nursing
Below is a sample list of some of our reference books. These books are available for use in the Callahan Library only. They can be found in the reference section on the main floor.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2024
The #1 annually updated general medical text--presents the most important diagnostic and treatment recommendations as well as the most useful new clinical developments in every field of adult medicine. For more than six decades, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables readers to find the answers they need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2024 reflects the latest developments in medicine, guidelines, references, and more. You'll find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. This trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care and includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2024 features: A comprehensive approach to patient care, focusing on the diagnostic tools relevant to daily practice Coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders Hundreds of drug treatment tables for quick access to indexed trade names Annual updates to topics in all chapters in a consistent format, drugs, tables, and images Year in Review highlighting the many topics with significant clinical changes over the last year Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic and treatment algorithms present complex information in an at-a-glance style Hundreds of full-color photos and illustrations New to this edition: Latest USPSFT recommendations for cardiovascular risk prevention Significant new opioid prescribing guidelines from the CDC Clarification on the distinction between uncontrolled hypertensive and hypertension emergency Latest classification of lymphomas released by the WHO Recommendations for the initiation and titration of treatment for chronic hypertension in pregnancy Current treatment guidelines and medications for H pylori infection Classification of the role, dosing, and potential risks of JAK inhibitors and anti-23 antibody (Risankizumab) in the treatment of IBD Updates that underscore the growing utility of combination treatments for high LDL levels, especially among high and very high-risk patients The WHO revision of the pathological classification of renal cell carcinoma to assist with prognosis prediction and treatment decisions
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
Health Assessment in Nursing
Clearly written, colorfully designed, and updated with the most current, evidence-based nursing considerations, Health Assessment in Nursing, 7th Edition helps students develop the comprehensive knowledge base and expert nursing assessment skills to confidently perform accurate, timely health assessments in a variety of healthcare settings. This popular, student-friendly text is known for its innovative 2- and 3-column design and intuitive organization, presenting in-depth assessment information alongside dynamic visuals to make concepts easy to understand. Powerful learning tools in the text and available online further hone students' data collection capabilities and cultivate the critical thinking skills students need to analyze data and detect client problems. Reflecting the latest trends and topical issues facing today's practicing nurses -- including opioid use and human trafficking -- this 7th Edition equips students with the assessment, documentation, and analytical skills to meet the clinical challenges ahead and ensure successful client outcomes throughout their nursing careers.
Magill's Medical Guide
Covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, biology, and issues in an easy-to-use A-Z format, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders. In addition to completely new essays in this edition, all entries from the previous edition have been evaluated and updated by a panel of Medical Editors to ensure their currency and accuracy.
Nursing 2025-2026 Drug Handbook by
The #1 Drug Guide for nurses and clinicians . . . always dependable, always up to-date! Now in its 45th Edition, Nursing2025-2026 Drug Handbook delivers the most current nursing focused information on more than 3,600 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy-to-use A-Z format. Features → NEW! Includes 24 brand-new FDA-approved drugs--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "NEW DRUGS" section for easy retrieval → NEW! Thousands of clinical updates--new dosages and indications, FDA boxed warnings, genetic-related information, adverse reactions, interactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information → Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns → Thoroughly updated appendices covering indications and dosages for numerous classes of drugs → Plus FREE access to these additional resources available on Lippincott NursingCenter® at https://www.nursingcenter.com: Monthly FDA updates and news Newly approved drugs New indications and dosages Drug warnings Drug news abstracts Medication safety information Types of medication errors, including causes and common errors Preventing and reducing medication errors Reporting medication errors Real-life stories of medication errors
Nursing Care Plans: Diagnoses, Interventions, and Outcomes
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care
The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022and 2023! For more than 30 years, health care providers have turned to The Only EKG Book You'll Ever Need for Dr. Malcolm S. Thaler's clear and concise guidance on EKG use in everyday practice. Ideal for readers at all levels of experience, the tenth edition of this straightforward, highly visual resource presents must-know information on using an EKG to diagnose cardiac and non-cardiac conditions, with numerous EKG strips, clear illustrations, clinical examples, and case studies throughout. From cover to cover, Dr. Thaler's commitment to "keeping simple things simple and making complicated things easy to understand" helps you learn and understand how to best use an EKG in actual clinical settings. Provides more than 200 EKG strips, including many new to this edition Includes updated clinical scenarios and case studies, step-by-step instructions, newly clarified concepts, and high-quality illustrations throughout Uses a lighthearted, lively writing style designed to be compelling and minimize confusion of principles discussed Outlines processes for identifying and interpreting arrhythmias, myocardial infarctions, hypertrophy, atrial fibrillation, and other disorders Advises on the dangers of over-reliance on computer interpretations and includes many other practical considerations that other books leave out Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Principles of Health: Allergies and Immune Disorders
This volume covers allergies, defined as hypersensitivity to the immune system, and immune disorders, which are dysfunctions of the immune system classified as different from allergies based on immune system disorders. Readers will explore allergies to common allergens, like pollen and certain foods, as well as a variety of immune disorders, such as lupus and rheumatoid arthritis. Coverage includes causes, prevalence, and treatments. Topics in this volume include: Signs and symptoms Food allergies Drug allergies Environmental allergies Genetics Immunodeficiencies Asthma Acute response Late-phase response Essays are comprehensive and accessible to high school students, undergraduates, and general readers interested in learning more about allergies, allergens, and immune disorders. Each essay includes multiple subheads including an opening Summary and Further Reading. The volume ends with a Glossary, Bibliography, and Subject Index.
Please refer to the Library E-Resources and Accessibility Guide for details regarding the accessibility of our various library resources.
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
Books located in the Reserve Collection are available for short-term checkout. Reserve items are located at the circulation desk.
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare
Nurse Practitioner's Business Practice and Legal Guide
This sixth edition is a must-have resource for every new or current nurse practitioner (NP) that explains and analyzes the legal issues relevant to nurse practitioners.
Books located in the Main Collection are available for checkout. The Main Collection stacks are located on the upper and lower levels of the library. Items may be brought to the circulation desk on the main level for checkout.
The following is a sample list of books located in the Main Collection at the Callahan Library:
Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by
Create individualized nursing care plans with ease and confidence! Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 13th Edition uses an easy, three-step system to guide you through client assessment, nursing diagnosis, and care planning. Step-by-step instructions show how to implement care and evaluate outcomes, and help you build skills in diagnostic reasoning and critical thinking. To make care planning easier, this handbook allows you to look up nursing diagnoses and care plans for more than 1450 client symptoms, as well as interventions from NIC (Nursing Interventions Classification) and outcomes from NOC (Nursing Outcomes Classification). Edited by noted nursing educators Mary Beth Flynn Makic and Marina Reyna Martinez-Kratz, this reference provides everything you need to write nursing care plans in just one book! Easy-to-follow Sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing diagnoses. Step-by-step instructions show how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. UNIQUE! Care plans are provided for each NANDA-International© (NANDA-I©) -approved nursing diagnosis. Evolve website includes a care plan template, case studies, review questions, and more! Evidence-based interventions and rationales include research studies and references supporting the use of each intervention. Examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes are presented in each care plan. Quality and safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care, and includes QSEN content in Section I. Pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, and home care interventions are included as appropriate for plans of care. Index of NANDA-I© Diagnoses on the inside back cover of the book provides quick reference to page numbers. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Updated content is based on the 2021-2023 NANDA-I©-approved nursing diagnoses and reflects new diagnoses, revised diagnoses, and retired diagnoses. NEW! Updated nursing diagnoses include class and domain information as consistent with the current NANDA-I.
Advanced Practice Nursing: Essentials for Role Development
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking (13th ed)
Epidemics and Pandemics by
Beyond their impact on public health, epidemics shape and are shaped by political, economic, and social forces. This book examines these connections, exploring key topics in the study of disease outbreaks and delving deep into specific historical and contemporary examples. From the Black Death that ravaged Europe in the 14th century to the influenza pandemic following World War I and the novel strain of coronavirus that made "social distancing" the new normal, wide-scale disease outbreaks have played an important role throughout human history. In addition to the toll they take on human lives, epidemics have spurred medical innovations, toppled governments, crippled economies, and led to cultural revolutions. Epidemics and Pandemics: From Ancient Plagues to Modern-Day Threats provides readers with a holistic view of the terrifying--and fascinating--topic of epidemics and pandemics. In Volume 1, readers will discover what an epidemic is, how it emerges and spreads, what diseases are most likely to become epidemics, and how disease outbreaks are tracked, prevented, and combatted. They will learn about the impacts of such modern factors as global air travel and antibiotic resistance, as well as the roles played by public health agencies and the media. Volume 2 offers detailed case studies that explore the course and lasting significance of individual epidemics and pandemics throughout history. Examines the topic from a number of angles, offering readers a holistic view of how epidemics and pandemics have affected and continue to affect the world Explains the science behind the emergence and spread of disease in easy-to-understand, jargon-free language Considers issues relevant to today's readers, including the impact of the anti-vaccination movement, climate change, global travel, and antibiotic resistance Offers a detailed look at the most famous examples of epidemics and pandemics throughout history, using a standardized format that makes finding information quick and easy
Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing and Healthcare
Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Healthcare
Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators by
To succeed as leaders of a diverse, multigenerational workforce, nurse managers and executives need to have both traditional management skills and a contemporary, creative mindset. Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators, Ninth Edition provides a comprehensive overview of key management and administrative concepts critical to leading modern healthcare organizations and ensuring patient safety and quality care. With this text, students will be prepared to lead a workplace that is rapidly evolving due to technology, culture, and changes in the U.S. healthcare system. The Ninth Edition features a new Introduction with a review of the current trends and patterns in nursing leadership, along with expanded discussions of translational science focused on implementation and dissemination, workforce well-being, resiliency, work-life balance, healthy work environments, and more timely topics. With this resource, students will have the foundational management and leadership concepts and the business theory knowledge to develop and advance their leadership capacity.
Penner's Economics and Financial Management for Nurses and Nurse Leaders
Holds a proven track record of success in teaching healthcare business basics to nurses This acclaimed text helps to build the fundamental economic and financial management skills nurses and nurse leaders need to be successful in daily practice and career advancement. The updated fourth edition includes new and revised case studies reflecting current trends and increased coverage of budget strategies, forecasting, and the financial impact of COVID-19. It is rewritten to provide greater clarity for readers unfamiliar with budgets and features a new two-color design to enhance readability. Additionally, the text reflects current AACN Essentials: Core Competencies for Professional Nursing Education and updated sample business plans, grant proposals, and other essential reports along with providing augmented Instructor Resources. The book--written by nurses for nurses--is designed to help readers understand the impact of healthcare economics and finance in their day-to-day clinical and leadership work. While it covers advanced practice topics and responsibilities, the text's readability and foundational content make it useful for nurses at all levels. It also delivers content essential for nurse entrepreneurs and other nurse leaders with its explanations of how national and global economics affect the health care industry, and how health insurance strategies affect consumer access and outcomes. The text provides multiple opportunities for experiential learning, such a writing business plans and grant proposals and engaging in discussions. It delivers cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness analyses, discusses budget preparation, offers strategies for controlling budget costs, and updates relevant health policies and statistics. Abundant Instructor Resources feature chapter-based Excel workbooks and PowerPoints, a test bank, and crossword puzzles with answers. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Fourth Edition: New and revised cases reflect current trends Increased coverage of budget strategies, forecasting, and the financial impact of COVID-19 and legislative changes Streamlined approach simplifies content for readers new to budgets New and updated definitions New and revised/updated chapters Two-color design enhances readability Reflect current AACN Essentials Enhances popular Instructor Resources Updates sample business plans, grant proposals, and other essential reports Key Features: Equally useful for RN-BSN, MSN, and DNP, programs Aligned with AACN and AONL guidelines and certification and competency standards Facilitates experiential learning with end-of-chapter exercises, tips for synthesizing knowledge, worksheets, and case examples Effective in traditional, hybrid, and online learning environments
Pharmacology for Nurses: A Pathophysiologic Approach
Practitioner Research for Social Work, Nursing, and the Health Professions
An invaluable tool for health and social work students and professionals who want to improve their practice through collaborative research with patients, clients, and colleagues. Throughout history, some of the most prominent contributors to health and social sciences have been men and women comfortable with both practice and academia. But today, research in health-related fields is increasingly conducted in specialized settings by people who are first and foremost researchers. Critics bemoan this loss of practice-based research, long considered a vital part of the contribution that doctors, nurses, public health workers, and social workers can make both to their field and the communities in which they work. Unfortunately, the explosion of new discoveries in health-related fields, along with the exponential increase in the amount of knowledge being produced and the growing demands of practice, have caused both the production and application of knowledge to become highly specialized and increasingly complex. This has resulted in a widening gap between research and practice. Recognizing the need for a guide to this type of research, Practitioner Research for Social Work, Nursing, and the Health Professions is a thoroughly reimagined version of a book originally published in 2011 in the Netherlands. Aimed at American practitioners, it is a highly practical guide for anyone in social work, nursing, and other health care and social welfare settings. Its seven-step Practitioner Research Method offers readers a tried-and-true approach to conducting research in their own work environments, and the authors use real-world examples to highlight strategies for overcoming barriers and incorporating research. While leading practitioners through each stage of the research process, the authors explain in detail how to apply a variety of field-tested tools and techniques. A unique and indispensable resource for students in undergraduate and graduate research courses, as well as for seasoned professionals who seek a practical guide for developing and implementing their own research projects in social work, nursing, and the health professions, this book is also the first textbook to introduce the concept and practice of practitioner research to an American audience.
Role Development for the Nurse Practitioner
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists
Womens Healthcare in Advanced Practice Nursing
Holistically addresses women's health, encompassing the needs of transgender and nonbinary individuals and considering ethnicity, social class, and disability/ableness Delivering incisive and comprehensive information on the healthcare needs of women, transgender, and nonbinary persons, the third edition of this distinguished text incorporates a strong focus on the provision of high value, equitable, and unbiased care. It expands research and clinical frameworks for understanding women's health to encompass transgender and nonbinary persons and places women's health within a holistic perspective considering ethnicity, social class, and disability/ableness. All chapters are significantly updated with new evidence-based research, clinical updates and guidelines, drug information, Covid-related information, racism, and health disparities. This text also covers current and pertinent health topics such as substance use and abuse, mental health, early pregnancy decision-making, and LGBTQ+ care, as well as abundant integrated information on care of transgender and nonbinary individuals, and enhanced information on pregnancy and primary care issues that disproportionately affect females. The book is organized for ease of use and is comprised of three distinct but interrelated sections on theoretical frameworks to guide approach and care, health promotion and prevention, and managing health conditions. Rich instructor resources include mapping content to AACN Essentials, case studies, a test bank, and PowerPoint slides. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Third Edition: Focuses on providing equitable, unbiased care for all women including transgender and nonbinary individuals Updated with new evidence-based research, clinical updates and guidelines, drug information, Covid-related information, and racism and health disparities information Expanded information on care of transgender individuals Enhanced content on pregnancy and related issues Four-color presentation to enhance readability Incorporates content in WHNP and CNM national certification examination blueprints Key Features: Distills cutting-edge information on women's health issues through a sociocultural framework Edited by renowned scholar/educators for AP nursing students Organized to provide easy retrieval of clinical information Addresses genetics, LGBTQ+ health, endocrine-related problems, health considerations for women caregivers, dementia care, and more Includes relevant web resources and apps in each chapter Provides extensive instructor toolkit to foster critical thinking
Writing for Publication in Nursing
Designated a Doody's Core Title! "Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, Five Stars -Doody's Medical Reviews "Teaching writing is the biggest challenge when teaching these courses including the mechanics of writing and how to organize...manuscripts. Manuscript writing is so much different than writing a paper for a grade. Students don't always appreciate the amount of time and attention to detail that a manuscript takes. [This book is] excellent. Gives the students a broad overview of writing yet includes specifics, such as how to create tables." -Kimberly Whiteman, DNP, MSN Waynesburg University Praise for previous edition This award-winning book has helped thousands of nursing students and nurses produce high quality work, with its focus on all aspects of writing for professional publication. The new fifth edition offers two-color design to enhance the reading experience, expanded coverage on selecting a journal, conducting and reporting a literature review, reporting evidence syntheses, and preparing DNP projects as manuscripts, as well as a greater variety of journal examples. A full chapter on writing research reports makes this edition particularly useful for PhD students and researchers. Designed for nursing students in MSN, DNP, and PhD programs along with faculty and practitioners interested in disseminating their scholarship, this comprehensive resource demystifies the process of writing for publication with easy-to-follow examples and expert guidance. It leads nurses step-by-step through scholarly writing from idea to publication with clear direction for a multitude of writing formats, including case reports, editorials, chapters, books, and more. Instructor Resources include a sample course syllabus, an online course with 17 modules, and PowerPoints for each module. New to the Fifth Edition: Enhanced reading experience with two-color design Expanded coverage of literature reviews, writing research reports and manuscripts on quality improvement, and content related to publishing DNP scholarly projects Types of evidence syntheses, steps to follow, and reporting guidelines Increased guidance on selecting a journal and open access Responding to peer reviews Greater variety of journal examples reflecting expanded publishing options Key Features: Takes readers through the entire process of writing for publication from idea to completion Delivers strategies for conducting and writing literature reviews, research reports, evidence syntheses, quality improvement and clinical practice articles, chapters, books, and more Includes learner exercises to guide development of competencies in each chapter Offers tips for turning dissertations, DNP scholarly projects, and course assignments into manuscripts Details submission, editorial review, and publication processes
Electronic books are available for online viewing. These books are designated in the catalog as "electronic resource" and contain the word "internet" within the call number. Select the "Read Online" link to access the title.
Electronic books may also be searched from the database links below.
