Library databases are online catalogs/indexes that contain information about journal, magazine and newspaper articles. You can search these databases to find information about specific topics.
Databases provide citation information for each article (who wrote it, where it was published, etc.) and often include an abstract (a summary of the article). Many library databases provide full-text versions of the articles themselves.
Databases are useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles or studies. Check out the link below for additional information about the characteristics of a research article.
Please refer to the Library E-Resources and Accessibility Guide for details regarding the accessibility of our various library resources.
If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, search again for the article title, along with any other relevant citation information, using the Discovery Search tool. Once you locate the article record, click on "Availability" to determine if any alternate SJNY Library databases provide access.
If one or more databases provide access, click on the "View Full Text" link(s) to find the full text.
If no databases provide access, then you can request the article through Interlibrary loan using the Tipasa system.
Use the Journal Locator to discover if the library subscribes to a specific journal title. You can search by title, keyword, or ISSN.
In addition to the journals contained within our databases, the college subscribes to several individual journal titles. In most cases the full text access goes back 5 to 10 years. For information on the full text coverage check the title in the Journal Locator.
Below is a list of some titles relevant to Nursing.
Ovid Journal Collection
(15 nursing-related journals)
Sage Journals
Science Direct Journals
Wiley Journals
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
The following is a list of databases relevant to locating articles relating to nursing.
The following is a list of databases that are useful for locating background information.
Primary sources are works generated at the time of the event. Primary sources include:
1. Documents produced by the events themselves: government documents, treaties, reports of official bodies, letters, and speeches.
2. Documents produced to record events at the time of the event: chronicles, diaries, journalists' reports, interviews, drawings, photographs, tape recordings and video tapes.
3. Oral histories or recollections of a participant to an event.
4. Creative Works such as art, drama, music, novels, poetry, and film
5. Reports of original research, case studies, and clinical studies
The following sites contain primary sources:
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics-Digitized copies of primary sources -- books, serials, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, charts, etc. Provides background information on historical diseases and epidemics. From Harvard University Library's Open Collections Program
Florence Nightingale Letters - From the National Library of Health Digital Collection, which contains full text of her letters.
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)-The collection includes portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
Nurses in the U.S. Navy: Bibliography and Sources-Includes oral histories from WWII Navy nurses (nurse experience during Pearl Harbor attack, Navy hospital nurse, nurse prisoner of war, nurse serving in Philippines), historical photos and Uniform Regulation, Navy Nurse Corps, 1917.
