Library databases are online catalogs/indexes that contain formation about journal, magazine and newspaper articles. You can search these databases to find information about specific topics.
Databases provide citation information for each article (who wrote it, where it was published, etc.) and often include an abstract (a summary of the article). Many library databases provide full-text versions of the articles themselves.
Databases are useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles or studies. Check out the link below for additional information about the characteristics of a research article.
If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, search again for the article title, along with any other relevant citation information, using the Discovery Search tool. Once you locate the article record, click on "Availability" to determine if any SJC Library databases provide access.
If one or more databases provide access, click on the "View Full Text" link(s) to find the full text.
If no databases provide access, then you can request the article through Interlibrary loan using the Tipasa system.
Use the Journal Locator to discover if the library subscribes to a specific journal title.
The following is a list of databases that are useful for locating background information. You may have to enter your SJNY login and password to access the databases.
Search these databases for information from educational resources. You may have to enter your SJNY login and password to access the database.
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
Search these databases for articles and other types of information by keyword, subject, title, or author. Y You may have to enter your SJNY login and password to access the databases.
Search these databases for articles from newspapers and magazines. You may have to enter your SJNY login and password to access the database.
Search these databases for research from computer science and information science journals. You may have to enter your SJNY login and password to access the database.
Search these databases for full-text, free access to theses and dissertations.
Search these databases for information from business information sources. You may have to enter your SJNY login and password to access the database.
Primary sources are works generated at the time of the event. Primary sources include:
1. Documents produced by the events themselves: government documents, treaties,letters, and speeches.
2. Documents produced to record events at the time of the event: chronicles, diaries, interviews, drawings, photographs.
3. Oral histories or recollections of a participant to an event.
4. Creative Works such as art, drama, music, novels, poetry, and film
5. Reports of original research, case studies, and clinical studies
