LibGuides: Art (McEntegart Library): ART267: Advertising & Graphic Design

Suggested Books

Below you'll find some suggested books and eBooks on the topics of consumer behavior and marketing:

Print Books

The Bare Bones Introduction to Integrated Marketing Communication by Robyn Blakeman
Call Number: HF5415.123 .B5568 2009
ISBN: 9780742555402
Publication Date: 2008-12-16
Consumer Behavior by Leon G. Schiffman; Joseph L. Wisenblit
Call Number: HF5415.32 .S35 2015
ISBN: 9780132544368
Publication Date: 2014-01-27
Consumer Behavior by Leon Schiffman; Leslie Kanuk
Call Number: HF5415.32 .S35 2010
ISBN: 9780135053010
Publication Date: 2009-07-28

EBooks

Buyer Personas by Adele Revella
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781118961667
Publication Date: 2015-02-24
Consumer Psychology by Jansson-Boyd
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780335239795
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Customer-Centric Marketing by Aldo Cundari
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781119092896
Publication Date: 2015-05-04
Decoding the Consumer Mind by Kit Yarrow
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781118647684
Publication Date: 2014-03-31
Marketing to Millennials by Jeff Fromm; Christie Garton
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780814433232
Publication Date: 2013-07-13
Reengineering Retail by Doug Stephens; Joseph Pine (Foreword by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1927958814
Publication Date: 2017-04-11

Browse By Call Number

HF5415	Marketing
NC997-NC1003	Graphic Design
TR	Photography
TS	Industrial Design
Z242.9-Z264.5	Printing / Typography

Discovery: McEntegart Hall Library

JSTOR

Background Information

Start your reseach by locating background information in these databases.

Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Online Encyclopedia covering all subject areas.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and handbooks in all major subject areas.
Provides access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and handbooks covering all major subject areas. Topic Pages offer pathways for further research, Mind Maps illustrate relationships between topics, and over 200,000 images are ready to use without digital rights management (DRM) restrictions.

Subject Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale - NOVELNY) This link opens in a new window
Articles and news in almost every subject area.
Provided by the New York State Library NOVELNY program, Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.

NOVELNY is a Statewide Internet Library connecting New Yorkers to 21st century information. NOVELNY is supported with temporary federal Library Services and Technology Act funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Articles and news in almost every subject area.
Academic Search Elite is a rich resource spanning a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals and abstracted and indexed journals. This database is sourced with PDF images for the great majority of journals; many of these PDFs are native (searchable) or scanned-in-color.
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Articles in the Arts & Humanities (e.g., History, Anthropology, Philosophy, Religion, Literature, Theatre, Film, Cultural Studies).
Arts & Humanities Database provides online access to 400 contemporary specialist arts titles combined with journals from related fields including ethnic studies, women’s studies, sociology, cultural studies, and more.

Find Images

Artstor

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital artwork and collections.

ATTENTION! Artstor is now available in its new home on JSTOR! When you search JSTOR, you will find Artstor’s 2+ million licensed images and more than 1,700 additional primary source collections alongside JSTOR’s vast collection of books, journal articles, and research reports.

On August 1, 2024, the legacy Artstor website will be retired. If you use Artstor, you’re invited to get started on JSTOR now – check out the Artstor on JSTOR welcome pagefor everything you need to make your move. If you’ve never used Artstor before, now is a great time to try it out. Visit the Artstor on JSTOR LibGuide, or jump right in with an image search.
Digital collection of artwork from many periods and cultures. More information on how to use this database can be found at this site: http://artstor.libguides.com/students

What is Artstor?

Artstor is a digital image library with over 2 million images from 300 of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.

Why should I use Artstor to find images?

Images are high-resolution.
Reliable metadata (i.e. date, medium, collection) is under the information icon.
You can download high-quality image details by zooming into the image.
Easily browse images by keyword, date, geography and/or classification.
Images are cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
Artstor automatically generates citations for images.

How do I use Artstor?

Using Artstor is a great webpage to learn how to use Artstor!

Adobe Tutorials

Creative Cloud Tutorials
Learn how to use all the apps in Adobe's Creative Cloud. The Creative Cloud gives you the design tools you need to bring your ideas to life, with apps for everything from image compositing and photo editing to website design, digital painting, 3D, and augmented reality.
Dreamweaver Tutorials
Learn basic and advanced skills in Adobe's Dreamweaver, an application that gives you faster, easier ways to design, code, and publish websites and web applications that look amazing on any size screen.
Illustrator Tutorials
Learn basic and advanced skills in Adobe's Illustrator, the vector graphics software that lets you create logos, icons, drawings, typography, and illustrations for print, web, video, and mobile.
InDesign Tutorials
Learn basic and advanced skills in Adobe's InDesign, the page design software and layout app that helps you make posters, books, digital magazines, eBooks, interactive PDFs, and more.
Photoshop Tutorials
Learn basic and advanced skills in Adobe's Photoshop, the world’s best imaging and graphic design software that lets you create and enhance photographs, illustrations, and 3D artwork.