Child Study (McEntegart Library): Classroom Resources / Lesson Plans

Here you'll find thousands of positive and respectful strategies & interventions for promoting appropriate behavior (in kids AND the adults who serve them).

A to Z Teacher Stuff is a teacher-created site designed to help teachers find online resources more quickly and easily. Find lesson plans, thematic units, teacher tips, discussion forums for teachers, downloadable teaching materials & eBooks, printable worksheets and blacklines, emergent reader books, themes, and more.

Visit the IRIS Center for Training Enhancements for free online interactive resources that translate research about the education of students with disabilities into practice. Our materials cover a wide variety of evidence-based topics, including behavior, RTI, learning strategies, and progress monitoring.

Internet Projects Registry, part of the larger site Global SchoolNet, is produced by the Global SchoolNet Foundation, a nonprofit educational organization made up of a worldwide network of 70,000-plus educators. The Registry is designed to provide a venue for students and teachers from across the globe to exchange ideas through collaborative online learning projects.

One of the biggest problems with blogging is getting other people to read and respond to the blog. This site solves that problem for teachers by creating a comprehensive blog community for educators where bloggers can create, connect, and read other peoples' blogs as well as attract readers for their own efforts.

Annenberg Learner uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. This mandate is carried out chiefly by the funding and broad distribution of educational video programs with coordinated Web and print materials for the professional development of K-12 teachers. It is part of The Annenberg Foundation and advances the Foundation's goal of encouraging the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.

A free web portal designed to assist anyone who wants to find high-quality, free Internet resources to use in classroom instruction, developing project ideas, reinforcing specific subject matter areas both in the class and at home and even for online technology tutorials.

A free world-class education for anyone anywhere.

The Khan Academy is an organization on a mission. We're a not-for-profit with the goal of changing education for the better by providing a free world-class education to anyone anywhere.

All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years, or a friendly alien just trying to get a leg up in earthly biology. The Khan Academy's materials and resources are available to you completely free of charge.

NSDL is the National Science Foundation's online library of resources and collections for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education and research.

THIRTEEN and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more just for New York teachers like you.

TED-Ed’s commitment to creating lessons worth sharing is an extension of TED’s mission of spreading great ideas. Within the growing TED-Ed video library, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed platform. This platform also allows users to take any useful educational video, not just TED's, and easily create a customized lesson around the video. Users can distribute the lessons, publicly or privately, and track their impact on the world, a class, or an individual student.

Discovery Education transforms classrooms, empowers teachers and captivates students by leading the way in providing high quality, dynamic, digital content to school districts large and small, rural and suburban and everything in between.

Accelerate student achievement in your district by capturing the minds and imaginations of students with the fascination of Discovery, tapping into students' natural curiosity and desire to learn. Discovery Education offers a portfolio of opportunities for districts to meet students where they want to learn in the digital age. With award- winning digital content, interactive lessons, real time assessment, virtual experiences with some of Discovery's greatest talent, classroom contest & challenges, professional development and more - Discovery is leading the way in transforming classrooms and inspiring learning.

Our mission is to translate research-based practices into practical tools to improve classroom instruction.

Search Over 400,000 Teacher-Reviewed Lesson Plans & Worksheets

Teacher-created, classroom-tested lesson plans using primary sources from the Library of Congress.

Since the Kennedy Center’s opening in 1971, schoolchildren, parents and educators have turned to us as the nation’s premiere cultural resource. Embracing this responsibility, the Kennedy Center instituted ARTSEDGE in 1996 as its educational media arm, reaching out to schools, communities, individuals and families with printed materials, classroom support and Internet technologies.

Search this index to find School Arts lesson plans and online articles dating back to 2004.

UsingEnglish.com provides a large collection of English as a Second Language (ESL) tools & resources for students, teachers, learners and academics. Browse our grammar glossary and references of irregular verbs, phrasal verbs and idioms, ESL forums, articles, teacher handouts and printables, and find useful links and information on English. Topics cover the spectrum of ESL, EFL, ESOL, and EAP subject areas.

Featured Books which in addition to being reviewed include discussion topics, activities, related books and links to other subjects and resources.

The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. I expect the user to be a librarian or a teacher intervening for a child-reader, however anyone may make use of it to find the best in children's literature including parents, book store personnel, and children and young adults themselves.

Teaching guides and book activities.

The Literacy Web is designed to promote the use of the Internet as a tool to assist classroom teachers in their search for best practices in literacy instruction, including the new literacies of Internet technologies.

Web English Teacher claims to offer the best of K-12 English/Language Arts online teaching resources.

The purpose of AMTNYS is:
-To insure better coordination of all activities of mathematics groups in the state.
-To afford a medium of exchange views regarding the teaching of mathematics
-To further the cooperative study of problems relating to the teaching of mathematics at all four levels,elementary, junior high, senior high and college.
-To encourage active interest in mathematics and mathematics education.
-To serve as liaison between the State Education Department and the field.

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is a public voice of mathematics education supporting teachers to ensure equitable mathematics learning of the highest quality for all students through vision, leadership, professional development and research.

This database contains a wide range of resources—from lesson plans and detailed curricula to tutorials, animations and laboratory exercises—for educators at all levels. You can search these resources by topic, type, or target audience. Use the links at the right to browse the collection, or use the resource finder above.

The Environmental Literacy Council (ELC) Web site offers a virtual library for environmental educators, students, and the general public interested in cross-disciplinary environmental resources.

This project, a result of collaboration between the Central Bucks School District in Pennsylvania and the College of Education at Temple University, is a portal for science students and teachers to Web-based learning tools that have been reviewed and analyzed by scientists and science educators.

The mission of the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science (NCCSTS) is to promote the nationwide application of active learning techniques to the teaching of science, with a particular emphasis on case studies and problem-based learning.

Education resources are distributed across many websites and program offices at NOAA and on NOAA partner websites. This portal is designed to assist educators in accessing these materials from one centralized interface. The content here is a sampling of NOAA's education resources and more can be found at each linked location. Materials selected for this site are organized by Themes, topical Collections, and content type that are aligned with common teaching topics and expressed needs of educators. Linked resources are organized into Collections which provide the user with a toolkit of materials and activities suitable for integration into a variety of educational settings. Collections are not grade specific but resources are labeled for grade appropriateness where applicable. Additional NOAA resources which support educator professional development, academic scholarship, career exploration, and education grants are also available. All materials linked from this site are free for use and distribution unless expressly noted.

Lessons, tools, resources, and benchmarks. Grades k-12

Launched in January 2009, Understanding Science, a free-access Internet resource funded by the National Science Foundation, is a great site for gaining a better understanding of all kinds of science.

Curriculum Connections is a collection of original lesson plans and resources that help K-12 educators integrate multicultural, anti-bias, and social justice themes into their curricula. Each edition is organized around a particular topic or theme, and a new edition is published approximately two times per school year.

TeachableMoment.Org provides educators with timely teaching ideas to encourage critical thinking on issues of the day and foster a positive classroom environment. It is a project of Morningside Center for Teaching Social Responsibility (formerly Educators for Social Responsibility Metropolitan Area).

EdTechTeacher presents The Center for Teaching History with Technology, a resource created to help K-12 history and social studies teachers incorporate technology effectively into their courses. Find resources for history and social studies lesson plans, activities, projects, games, and quizzes that use technology. Explore inquiry-based lessons, activities, and projects. Learn about web technologies such as blogs, podcasts, wikis, social networks, Google Docs, ebooks, online maps, virtual field trips, screencasts, online posters, and more. Explore innnovative ways of integrating these tools into the curriculum, watch instructional video tutorials, and learn how others are using technology in the classroom!

A place for educators to find thought-provoking news, conversation and support for those who care about diversity, equal opportunity and respect for differences in schools

LD OnLine is the leading website on learning disabilities, learning disorders and differences. Parents and teachers of learning disabled children will find authoritative guidance on attention deficit disorder, ADD / ADHD, dyslexia, dysgraphia, dyscalculia, dysnomia, reading difficulties, speech and related disorders.

Information & Resources for Teaching Students with Learning Disabilities

The landmark City Council program, initiated by the UFT more than 25 years ago, reimburses educators — as determined by title — for the purchase of classroom and school supplies of their choice.