LibGuides: Child Study (McEntegart Library): Web Resources

Noteworthy Web Articles/Resources

Beyond Tolerance, Teachers College
A resource guide for addressing LGBTQI+ issues in schools.
The Brown Bookshelf
The Brown Bookshelf is designed to push awareness of the myriad Black voices writing for young readers.
The CCBC’s Diversity Statistics: Spotlight on LGBTQ+ Stories
In 2017, of the approximately 3,700 books we received at the CCBC, we counted 136 — less than 4 percent — with significant LGBTQ+ content. By Madeline Tyner. Published: Nov 15, 2018.
Jacqueline Woodson's Shares Essential Books for Discussing Racism With Kids
"It’s up to us to decide whose narrative we will not only choose to see, but choose to believe." By Jacqueline Woodson. Published: Jun 9, 2020
The Power of Black Storytelling in Preschool Environments
Published: Feb 18, 2021
more...less...
Source: WECA advocates for high-quality, accessible and affordable early care and education and strong supports for early childhood professionals.
The Safe Zone Project Activities
The Safe Zone Project was founded in 2013 as a free online resource for folks doing LGBTQI+ awareness and ally trainings.
Teaching for Black Lives
The Teaching for Black Lives campaign provides teachers support, resources, and encouragement to teach young people honestly about systemic racism and how to organize for justice.

Classroom Management

A to Z Teacher Stuff
more...less...
A to Z Teacher Stuff is a teacher-created site designed to help teachers find online resources more quickly and easily. Find lesson plans, thematic units, teacher tips, discussion forums for teachers, downloadable teaching materials & eBooks, printable worksheets and blacklines, emergent reader books, themes, and more.
The Iris Center
more...less...
Visit the IRIS Center for Training Enhancements for free online interactive resources that translate research about the education of students with disabilities into practice. Our materials cover a wide variety of evidence-based topics, including behavior, RTI, learning strategies, and progress monitoring.

Evaluating Websites

CRAP Method
Use this worksheet to determine is a source is CRAP or not.

To evaluate a website, you must determine its credibility.

Ask yourself "Is this CRAP?"

Currency: When was the page created & updated? (Copyright year)

Reliability/Relevancy : What references does this site provide? (Links)

Authority: Who created this site? (.edu, .gov, .org, .com)

Purpose: Why was this site created & is there bias? (Advertising)

EduClipper

EduClipper is a relatively new web application that is often called the "Pinterest of Education." The free tool allows teachers and students to design and curate a digital portfolio of websites, documents, images, and videos. And, like Pinterest, users can follow others, comment on material, and interact at just about every level.

National Library of Education

Click on tab For Teachers to find lesson plans. Great ideas for teaching with primary sources.

Government Sites

Child Development (NCBDDD)
Information on child development from the CDC
ERIC.ed.gov
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
National Archives - Docs Teach
Thousands of primary source documents to bring the past to life as classroom teaching tools from the billions preserved at the National Archives.
National Archives - Finding Primary Source Documents
NYC Department of Education
The New York City Department of Education is the largest system of public schools in the United States, serving about 1.1 million students in over 1,700 schools.
NY State Department of Education
Our mission is to raise the knowledge, skill, and opportunity of all the people in New York. Our vision is to provide leadership for a system that yields the best educated people in the world.
U.S. Department of Education
ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.

Selected Sites

ABCs of Child Development
Developmental Milestones for your Child's First Five Years
IDEA Website
Provides resources related to IDEA and its implementing regulations.
LD Online
Resources on learning disabilities and ADHD.
Reading is Fundamental (RIF)
Prepares and motivates children to read by delivering free books and literacy resources to those children and families who need them most
Scholastic
The corporate mission of Scholastic is to encourage the intellectual and personal growth of all children, beginning with literacy, the cornerstone of all learning. With more than 90 years of experience supporting the learning lives of children, today Scholastic remains committed to providing quality, engaging educational content in digital and print formats for the next generation of learners, and the families and educators who guide them.

Statistical Resources

The following websites contain statistical information relevant to Child Study and Education

America's Children
Key national indicators of well being 2009.
Condition of Education
This summarizes important developments and trends in education using the latest available data.
Digest of Education Statistics
This site provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
National Education Association Reference Center
Reports on state rankings, school readiness, school funding and more.
NIEER: National Institute for Early Education Research
The National Institute for Early Education Research (NIEER) conducts and communicates research to support high-quality, effective early childhood education for all young children. Such education enhances their physical, cognitive, and social development, and subsequent success in school and later life.
New York State Report Cards
The New York State Report Cards provide enrollment, demographic, attendance, suspension, dropout, teacher, assessment, accountability, graduation rate, post-graduate plan, career and technical education, and fiscal data for public and charter schools, districts, and the State.

Civil Rights and Social Justice Resources for Classrooms

8 Ways Teachers Can Address White Supremacy in the Classroom
Strategies, lessons, and tools. Common Sense Media. By Tanner Higgin. Published: September 7, 2017.
Anti-Defamation League Lesson Plans
Filter lesson plans by such topics as Ability, Disability & Ableism; Anti-Bias Education; Antisemitism Globally; Antisemitism in the US; Bias, Discrimination & Hate; Bullying & Cyberbullying Prevention; Education Equity; Extremism, Terrorism & Bigotry and many more.
Culturally Responsive Teaching, Common Sense Media's Top 32 Picks
This collection of mostly free and web-based resources provides teachers with valuable professional development and classroom strategies for culturally responsive teaching and supporting diverse communities in the classroom. There are lesson plans and activities, as well as primary media, on challenging but necessary topics like racism, sexism, and genocide, as well as historical events like the civil rights movement and Japanese American internment along with contemporary social justice struggles.
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Resources for Classrooms
Diversity, equity, and inclusion, or DEI, is a way of thinking and being in the world that helps us respect and transcend our differences. Through DEI, learners understand that while we all experience the world differently, there's power in honoring our shared humanity. Solidarity is our only path to a better world where everyone is given dignity and security. Common Sense Media.
Native American History Lessons and Assessments
Free history lessons and assessments to support teaching the histories of Indigenous peoples of the United States and the Americas. A few available in Spanish. Stanford History Education Group.
Stand Against Hatred Lesson Plans, Asian American Education Project
Asian Americans are often regarded as “perpetual foreigners” or the “model minority.” Unfortunately, the Asian American experience is overlooked, forgotten, or misrepresented in history texts and in the K-12 curriculum.

Search Engines

iSEEK
iSEEK™ Education is a targeted search engine that compiles hundreds of thousands of authoritative resources from university, government, and established noncommercial providers. It provides time-saving intelligent search and a personal Web-based library to help you locate the most relevant results immediately and find them quickly later.

Developmental Assets

Search Institute
Promotes positive youth development and advance equity through research and practical solutions.