Library databases are online catalogs/indexes that contain information about journal, magazine and newspaper articles. You can search these databases to find information about specific topics.
Databases provide citation information for each article (who wrote it, where it was published, etc.) and often include an abstract (a summary of the article). Many library databases provide full-text versions of the articles themselves.
Databases are useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles or studies. Check out the link below for additional information about the characteristics of a research article.
Please refer to the Library E-Resources and Accessibility Guide for details regarding the accessibility of our various library resources.
If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, search again for the article title, along with any other relevant citation information, using the Discovery Search tool. Once you locate the article record, click on "Availability" to determine if any alternate SJNY Library databases provide access.
If one or more databases provide access, click on the "View Full Text" link(s) to find the full text.
If no databases provide access, then you can request the article through Interlibrary loan using the Tipasa system.
Use the Journal Locator to discover if the library subscribes to a specific journal title. You can search by title, keyword, or ISSN.
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
The following is a list of databases relevant to locating articles relating to Speech, Language, and Hearing:
The following is a list of databases that are useful for locating background information.
