Call numbers indicate where an item is located within the library. The Callahan Library uses the Library of Congress Classification system which groups items by subject matter.
The following call numbers will help you locate items relevant to 3D Printing
Subclass T - Technology (General)
Subclass TS - Technology (Manufacturers)
If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, search again for the article title, along with any other relevant citation information, using the Discovery Search tool. Once you locate the article record, click on "Availability" to determine if any alternate SJNY Library databases provide access.
If one or more databases provide access, click on the "View Full Text" link(s) to find the full text.
If no databases provide access, then you can request the article through Interlibrary loan using the Tipasa system.
Use the Journal Locator to discover if the library subscribes to a specific journal title. You can search by title, keyword, or ISSN.
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
3D Printing by
An accessible introduction to 3D printing that outlines the additive manufacturing process, industrial and household markets, and emerging uses.The use of 3D printing-digitally controlled additive manufacturing-is growing rapidly. Consumer models of 3D printers allow people to fabricate small plastic objects, from cabinet knobs to wedding cake toppers. Industrial uses are becoming widespread, as businesses use the technology to fabricate prototypes, spare parts, custom-fitted prosthetics, and other plastic or metal items, often at lower cost and with greater efficiency than standard manufacturing. In this volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series, John Jordan offers an accessible introduction to 3D printing, describing the printing process, industrial and household markets, and emerging uses. Jordan outlines the stages of 3D printing, from idea to software model to a printable file that slices the planned object into printable layers to the finished object itself. He describes additive technologies, consumer 3D printing in homes and schools, mass customization (which can create tens of millions of unique items), and industrial uses. Jordan explains that although 3D printers have not become the ubiquitous home appliance once predicted, they are making inroads into mass markets; and he discusses the business factors that may hinder industry adoption of 3D printing technologies. He considers the possible unintended consequences of 3D printing on jobs, as companies scramble to find employees with an uncommon skill set; on business models and supply chains, as manufacturing is decentralized; and on patent law, as machines can be programmed to copy protected property. Finally, Jordan looks at new and emerging uses, including bioprinting, building construction, and micromachines.
3D Printing (Without the Geek Speak) by 
3D Printing 101 by
SPECIAL EDITION: Fully colored You can develop a basic and profound understanding of FDM 3D printing by using this 3D printing guide. You will learn everything you need to know about how to print objects using an FDM 3D printer! The author of the book is an enthusiastic 3D printing user and engineer (M.Eng.), who will guide you professionally from the basics to even more advanced settings. After a short introduction to the fundamentals of 3D printing and a 3D printer purchase advice, the usage of a 3D printer, as well as the required software (free software), is explained in a practical context. Ultimaker's Cura is used as a free slicing software, and its functions are explained in detail. Several images support the explanations of the book and provide a clear and easy introduction to the topic. The entire process - starting with a ".stl" file (3D model) all the way to the printed object - is explained by means of descriptive examples (downloadable free of charge). Even if you do not own a 3D printer or do not want to buy one, you will be given an insight into this fascinating technology from the contents of the book! You also have the option of using an external 3D printing service provider or a makerspace instead of an own 3D printer. Table of contents (short form): 1) Possibilities of 3D Printing 2) 3D Printer Purchase Advice 3) First 3D Print 4) Getting started with necessary 3D Printing Software 5) Advanced Objects and Advanced Settings 6) Step by step Slicing and Printing of Examples 7) Materials and Equipment 8) 3D Scanning 9) Troubleshooting and Maintenance This book is intended for anyone interested in 3D Printing! No matter if just for information purposes about the technology or for realizing own models. All procedures are explained in detail and are presented in a way that is very easy to understand! This practice guide is perfect for makers, creative people, inventors, engineers, architects, students, teenagers, and so on. Approx. 56 pages.
3D Printing for Dummies by
Print out whatever you can dream up 3D Printing For Dummies is an easy reference for anyone new to the process of taking a digital file and turning it into an object in the real world. (Pretty amazing stuff, right?) It's also a handy guide for more experienced users looking to learn the latest and greatest in additive manufacturing. Updated for the latest generation of machines and materials, this book walks you through creating models and printing 3D objects. You'll get the scoop on the impact of these versatile machines in production and manufacturing, reuse and recycling, intellectual property design controls, and more. It's an exciting time to get into 3D printing, and this friendly Dummies guide is here to help you do it. Wrap your mind around the technology of 3D printing Understand how 3D printing is transforming industries Get an intro to making your own digital models Consider the pros and cons of 3D printing for your hobby or business needs 3D Printing For Dummies is a perfect resource for anyone interested in learning about and taking advantage of 3D printing technology.
Getting Started with 3D Printing, Revised ed. by
The book is written in a casual, conversational style. It is easily accessible to those who have no prior knowledge in 3D printing, yet the book's message is solidly practical, technically accurate, and consumer-relevant. The chapters include contemporary, real-life learning exercises and insights for how to buy, use and maintain 3D printers. It also covers free 3D modeling software, as well as 3D printing services for those who don't want to immediately invest in the purchase of a 3D printer. Particular focus is placed on free and paid resources, the various choices available in 3D printing, and tutorials and troubleshooting guides.
Make: Calculus - Build Models to Learn, Visualize, and Explore by
When Isaac Newton developed calculus in the 1600s, he was trying to tie together math and physics in an intuitive, geometrical way. But over time math and physics teaching became heavily weighted toward algebra, and less toward geometrical problem solving. However, many practicing mathematicians and physicists will get their intuition geometrically first and do the algebra later. Make:Calculus imagines how Newton might have used 3D printed models, construction toys, programming, craft materials, and an Arduino or two to teach calculus concepts in an intuitive way. The book uses as little reliance on algebra as possible while still retaining enough to allow comparison with a traditional curriculum. This book is not a traditional Calculus I textbook. Rather, it will take the reader on a tour of key concepts in calculus that lend themselves to hands-on projects. This book also defines terms and common symbols for them so that self-learners can learn more on their own.
Make: Geometry - Learn by 3D Printing, Coding and Exploring by
Geometry, of all the branches of mathematics, is the one that is most easily visualized by making something. However, it is all too easy to reduce it to reams of formulas to memorize and proofs to replicate. This book aims to take geometry back to its practical roots with 3D printed models and puzzles as well as demonstrations with household objects like flashlights and paper towel tubes. This is not a traditional geometry textbook, but rather builds up understanding of geometry concepts while also bringing in elements of concepts normally learned much later. Some of the models are counterintuitive, and figuring out how and why they work will both entertain and give insights. Two final chapters suggesting open-ended projects in astronomy and physics, and art and architecture, allow for deeper understanding and integration of the learning in the rest of the book.
Make: Trigonometry - Build Your Way from Triangles to Analytic Geometry by
Trigonometry has 2000-year-old roots in everyday useful endeavors, like finding the size of an object too big or far away to measure directly, or navigating from Point A to Point B. However, it is often taught very theoretically, with an emphasis on abstractions. Make: Trigonometry uses 3D printable models and readily-available physical objects like wire and cardboard tubes to develop intuition about concepts in trigonometry and basic analytic geometry. Readers will imagine the thought process of the people who invented these mathematical concepts, and can try out "math experiments" to see for themselves how ingenious ancient navigators and surveyors really were. The analytic geometry part of the book links equations to many of these intuitive concepts, which we explore through in-depth explanations of manipulative models of conic sections. This book is aimed at high school students who might be in Algebra II or Pre-Calculus. It shows the geometrical and practical sides of these topics that otherwise can drown in their own algebra. Make: Trigonometry builds on the basics of the authors' earlier book, Make: Geometry, and is intended as a bridge from that book to their Make: Calculus book. The user can read this book and understand the concepts from the photographs of 3D printable models alone. However, since many models are puzzle-like, we encourage the reader to print the models on any consumer-grade filament based 3D printer. The models are available for download in a freely-available open source repository. They were created in the free program OpenSCAD, and can be 3D printed or modified by the student in OpenSCAD to learn a little coding along the way.
