Library databases are online catalogs/indexes that contain information about journal, magazine and newspaper articles. You can search these databases to find information about specific topics.
Databases provide citation information for each article (who wrote it, where it was published, etc.) and often include an abstract (a summary of the article). Many library databases provide full-text versions of the articles themselves.
Databases are useful for locating peer reviewed journal articles or studies. Check out the link below for additional information about the characteristics of a research article.
Library E-Resources and Accessibility Guide
The Library E-Resources and Accessibility Guide provides details regarding the accessibility of our various library resources.
Report a digital accessibility issue (Google Form opens in new tab)
Please use this form to report any issues you may experience with any library web content. We will respond as soon as possible. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.
If a database search tells you about an article but the full text of the article is not there, search again for the article title, along with any other relevant citation information, using the Discovery Search tool. Once you locate the article record, click on "Availability" to determine if any alternate SJNY Library databases provide access.
If one or more databases provide access, click on the "View Full Text" link(s) to find the full text.
If no databases provide access, then you can request the article through Interlibrary loan using the Tipasa system.
Use the Journal Locator to discover if the library subscribes to a specific journal title. You can search by title, keyword, or ISSN.
In addition to our databases, the college subscribes to a few online journal titles. In most cases the full text access goes back 5 to 10 years. For information on the full text coverage check the title in the AZ List of Journals.
Below is the list of electronic journal subscriptions relevant to Child Study.
Use One Search box for Books, Articles, Videos, and more!
The following is a list of databases relevant to locating articles relating to Child Study
The following is a list of database that contain primary school level material
The following is a list of databases that are useful for locating background information.
What is a study?
A study is a written document, which describes in detail the findings of a scholarly and/or scientific investigation of a topic. It is also known as empirical or primary research.
Characteristics of Research Articles:
Abstract Section - Provides a summary of the articles and includes keywords.
Introduction - Presents the Problem and provides background information and explains why the research is being done.
Hypothesis -States the Problem (this is sometimes also included in the Introduction).
Methods Section - Explains how the research was conducted and may include number of participants, equipment used, procedure, etc.
Results Section - Summarizes the data (including tables, charts, graphs).
Discussion - Evaluates the results and explains how the research proved or disproved the Hypothesis (may be included within Results section).
References - List of sources used. Useful for locating additional materials.
Primary sources are works generated at the time of the event. Primary sources include:
1. Documents produced by the events themselves: government documents, treaties, reports of official bodies, letters, and speeches.
2. Documents produced to record events at the time of the event: chronicles, diaries, journalists' reports, interviews, drawings, photographs, tape recordings and video tapes.
3. Oral histories or recollections of a participant to an event.
4. Creative Works such as art, drama, music, novels, poetry, and film
5. Reports of original research, case studies, and clinical studies
