Skip to Main Content

Libraries

Callahan Library (LI Campus), McEntegart Library (Brooklyn Campus), SJNY Online

Faculty Services: Callahan Library

Placing Materials on Reserve at the Callahan Library

The Library can place a faculty members personal copy or items such as books, DVDs, articles and streaming videos found in the Library catalog on reserve. Please fill out and submit the Faculty Book, Article & Video Course Reserve Request located below.

Policies & Processing

  • Items placed on reserve will remain up until the end of the semester and will be removed at the end of the semester.
  • Books, DVDs and articles obtained through Interlibrary Loan cannot be placed on Reserve.
  • If using an article from one of our databases, please be sure to provide the citation and permalink.
  • Personal copies of monographs and other materials will be returned to the instructor in care of the Department at the end of the designated semester.
  • The Library cannot accept responsibility for replacing lost personal copies of books and material.

Fair Use

Faculty members placing materials in their Canvas course are responsible for determining if their reserve qualifies as a Fair Use. Fair use guidelines limit reproduction to no more than 10% of the total work. No more than one article per journal title can be posted.

Fair use (Section 107 of the U.S. Copyright code) provides parameters for the legal use of copyrighted material without the permission of the copyright holder. The law mandates that four factors be considered in determining whether or not a use is fair. These are:

  1. The purpose and character of the use, including whether the use is of a commercial nature or is for nonprofit educational purposes;
  2. The nature of the copyrighted work;
  3. The amount and substantiality of the portion used in relation to the work as a whole; and
  4. The effect of the use upon the potential market for or value of the copyrighted work.

Check to see if your reserve qualifies as Fair Use by using this Interactive Fair Use Evaluator.

For further guidance, you can review the Callahan Library Copyright Libguide or consult a librarian.

Harvard Business Review articles may not be used for course reading. “Harvard Business Review Notice of Use Restrictions: Harvard Business Review and Harvard Business Publishing Newsletter content on EBSCOhost is licensed for the private individual use of authorized EBSCOhost users. It is not intended for use as assigned course material in academic institutions nor as corporate learning or training materials in businesses. Academic licensees may not use this content in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources.

Callahan Faculty Book, Article & Video Course Reserve Request

For questions, changes to a reserve or removal of an older edition please contact the library using callahan.reserves@sjny.edu.

Contacts

Email: Callahan.reserves@sjny.edu  Phone: 631-687-2633

To provide adequate time to prepare, library instruction appointments should be made at least two weeks prior to the scheduled library class. The library instruction calendar fills up quickly. To ensure your preferred date, it’s best to make a request early in the semester (or even before the semester begins).

Faculty may request library instruction for any class. Librarians can provide general instruction, or they can customize a session for a specific course or assignment. 

Classes include but are not limited to the following:

  • General orientation covering how to use the Online Catalog, the Databases and the Library Website

  • Finding Books and Articles

  • Subject-Oriented Databases (Business, History, Social Science, Poetry, etc.)

  • Finding Primary Sources

  • Website Evaluation

  • Plagiarism and Citation Styles

 To request library instruction, please complete the following form.

Callahan Library Instruction Request Form

IMPORTANT! Your class request is not confirmed until you have received a reply either by email or phone. If you have not received a reply within 3 business days, please contact Deana Ditta at dditta@sjny.edu or 631.687.2634.

The Callahan Curriculum Library, a collection supporting the child study and secondary education majors, includes textbooks with teacher editions, instructional materials, and children's fiction and nonfiction. To request Curriculum Library Instruction please contact the Curriculum Librarian, Lisa Patterson, via email at lpatterson@sjny.edu or phone 631.687.2638.

Faculty Instruction: We will provide individual instruction for faculty on the use of many of our databases, searching the Library Catalog and Evaluating Web Pages.  Please contact the reference desk (ext. 2635 or 2639) to schedule an appointment.

The library strongly encourages teaching faculty to make recommendations for adding materials to our collections that support teaching and student research in their classes and disciplines.

To recommend an item for purchase please fill out as much information as possible on the following forms.

Faculty Purchase Request for Callahan Library

Faculty Streaming Film Request Form

Faculty members will be notified when ordered materials have been received.

NOTE: If you wish to suggest a journal subscription or streaming media service please contact the library director. Due to the substantial and ongoing cost of digital resources, these requests will be evaluated in light of available funds and anticipated use.

Faculty may request Callahan librarians to prepare course specific bibliographies. Bibliographies will reflect resources available through the Callahan Library. Please request bibliographies at least two weeks before they are required.

Contact Adele Fitzgerald at afitzgerald2@sjny.edu or 631-687-2639 for bibliography requests.

Faculty may reserve required or recommended readings for their courses. Articles, books and media from our collection or personal copies of books may be placed on reserve. Please refer to the Course Reserves tab for details.

    Textbooks - It is not the policy of the Callahan Library to purchase required textbooks for courses. The library considers purchasing the book (or A/V material) on a case-by-case basis.  Alternatively, we accept donations of desk copies or you can temporarily lend the library your copy for the semester.

    Streaming Video - The Callahan Library only accepts faculty requests for possible purchase of course materials.

What is permalink?

A permalink is a static or permanent web address (URL) that points to a specific item such as an article or e-book.

Why use permalinks?

If you copy a URL directly from the browser address bar the link is often not a permanent one, as some databases change the link address for each new search session, even if you are looking up the same information. Conversely, a permalink is intended to remain permanent for a long period of time.

Will the permalinks work off campus?

Subscription database links will not work off campus without authentication through a proxy server. If the permalinks do not include the campus proxy URL, students will not be able to access the material from off campus. Some databases will add the proxy URL automatically, and some will not.

What is a proxy server?

The proxy server allows you to connect to SJC Libraries e-resources from off campus by redirecting each request through a computer on campus.

What is the library's proxy server address? 

https://ez.sjcny.edu/login?url=

The proxy server address should be placed in front of the permalink address for library resources that require authentication. Some databases such as EBSCO, Gale, and ProQuest may already include the proxy server address.

Where do I find permalinks?

Most databases will have a permalink somewhere in the record, but each database may post them in different ways and places. Sometimes they are called permalinks, sometimes they are called persistent URLs.

Faculty Services: McEntegart Library

Faculty may reserve required or recommended readings for their courses. To reserve an item, contact the library at least four weeks before the class requires the material. Material will remain on reserve for the semester, but will be returned to the shelves or faculty member once classes end.

Note:
Harvard Business Review articles may not be used for course reading. “Harvard Business Review Notice of Use Restrictions: Harvard Business Review and Harvard Business Publishing Newsletter content on EBSCOhost is licensed for the private individual use of authorized EBSCOhost users. It is not intended for use as assigned course material in academic institutions nor as corporate learning or training materials in businesses. Academic licensees may not use this content in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources.

McEntegart Faculty Book, Article & Video Course Reserve Request

For questions, changes to a reserve or removal of an older edition please contact the library using mcentegart@sjny.edu.

Librarians support faculty by teaching information literacy and critical thinking skills. Invite a librarian into your class to cover a range of topics including: selecting and refining research topics, locating books and articles, using databases, evaluating websites, and citing sources. Librarians also offer one-on-one research consultation. Please contact the library at least two weeks prior to the scheduled library class to schedule a session.

To request library instruction, please complete the following form.

McEntegart Library Instruction Request From

The library regularly compiles Suggested Titles Lists consisting of favorably reviewed books. We encourage faculty to review these and select items for purchase or make recommendations of their own.

Faculty may request McEntegart Hall librarians to prepare course specific bibliographies. Bibliographies will reflect resources available through the McEntegart Hall Library. Please request bibliographies at least two weeks before they are required. Contact the Reference Desk at mcentegart@sjny.edu or 718-940-5880 for bibliography requests.

The Canvas Learning Management System is an online learning environment that may be tailored to the needs of faculty and their students. Please contact the library if you would like to work with a librarian on incorporating resources (web tools, academic content, Forum moderation/reference & chat services) into your course's site.

LibGuides are web-based research guides with librarian-curated content in each subject area offered at St. Joseph’s University. Students may consult LibGuides for more information on books, articles & websites relating to their assigned topic and faculty are encouraged to contact librarians about creating guides for their own class.

SJNY Libraries Website Privacy Policy